The Groomsman Reunion Tour

May 27, 2008 at 6:48 pm 6 comments

(Hat Tip to Matt. I blatantly stole the post name from him)

Saturday was a busy day. I drove up from Blacksburg to the DC area with three dogs, made a quick trip to Safeway and then my Mom and I frantically worked on some Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles. The truffles were rushed and not quite as pretty looking as usual, but they still retained that oh so delicious taste. Which was good, because they were my dish for a BBQ at Stacy and Louise’s house!!!

The BBQ was a mini-wedding party reunion from Stacy and Louise’s wedding last November. On the bride’s side “my” bridesmaid, Jenn, was present. The groom’s side was all accounted for! Best man Kipp was there as well as Groomsman Matt and of course, Groomsman Vicky (that’s me)!

My favorite part of the day would have to be around dusk when our whole group went for a walk through a park and an adjacent neighborhood. We even ran into a doe with a tiny, tiny, spotted fawn. I didn’t manage to keep my camera still enough for a decent shot.

Down here in Blacksburg, I have been looking up so many trees lately that as I stroll through the forest I see a lot of familiar leaves. Up in Chantilly, Virginia, the only trees I could recognize right away were sycamores. It just goes to show the diversity found in Virginia… and it aptly demonstrates that I have a lot left to learn about trees.🙂

Anyway, some pictures. Most of these are courtesy of Matt. Note that my post-Locks of Love hair is finally long enough for a pony tail again! SWEET! I celebrated by wearing a pony tail every day this holiday weekend.


Me and the other groomsman, Matt. (Photo by Matt)


Stacy and Louise (Photo by Matt)


Bridesmaid, Jenn (Photo by Matt)


Casey and Louise Laugh


@$(&ing low light at dusk!

I definitely enjoyed our reunion and found it to be a very good way to kick off Memorial Day weekend. Perhaps Stacy and Louise could be convinced to make it a tradition.

As for more pictures, Matt has a set of party pictures on his Flickr site. I have a small set up as well. Finally, I’m sure eventually Casey will have hers up too.

Entry filed under: Deer, Matt Ciarelli, Stacy McMahon, Travel, trees, Virginia. Tags: .

Measuring Trees, Vicky-Style All Things Olive Festival

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  May 27, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    The deer pic is still good! :))

    Reply
  • 2. Matt  |  May 27, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Wow, your pic of the deer came out a hell of a lot better than mine did–it’s totally black. I have to figure out how to lighten it up some. Hmm….

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  May 27, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Matt, try adjusting the gamma … A good full-screen image viewing program with good quick keypress (shift-G) gamme correction is Irfanview … Photoshop is a bit better, but it’s slow to load.

    Reply
  • 4. Matt  |  May 28, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Hmm, I have irfanview, I’ll have to try that…thanks!

    Reply
  • 5. Clint  |  May 28, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I am a [recent] big fan of irfanview because it does full-screen view, and you can hit the delete key to delete… and go between images with the arrow keys. I really don’t like to make any decision using anything less than a FULL full-screen pic. You can even crop (but not in FULL full-screen.. select area, then hit ctrl-y i believe) which is handy, and it saves EXIF info when doing so.

    It’s no photoshop, but with photoshop I drag a whole folder of images in, then I sit back for 2 minutes while it loads, and that’s kind of a pain. and there’s no way to delete the file with the delete key like that…….

    finding the gamma adjustment hot key (shift-g) was a good bonus!

    Reply
  • 6. chriggy  |  May 28, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Hmm, interesting. I’ve had IrfanView for a few years now, but never really used it for anything but viewing JPEG 2000 images. I may have to try it out.

    However, I’m kind of partial to Picasa for basic image fixes.I don’t think it does full screen view(even though it does have a nice 100% zoom view with a VERY nice panning feature). It’s easy to use, and automatically preserves a copy of the original picture(in a separate folder) after editing.

    You don’t actually load the images, since it’s also an album type program and auto-adds pictures to it’s library based on selected folders(In my case, my pictures), so when you open it up it’s there. Plus it supports geotagging via Goggle Earth, and lets you filter pics by IPTC tags. Basically, one stop shopping. It also does tagging, but I don’t really use it for that since it mangles anything with a space in it. Best of all, it’s free.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


