Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

December 18, 2007 at 11:07 am 22 comments

These little things have been my contribution to a couple of pot lucks.  Everytime I make them, I have to dig up an old journal entry (I originally got it from a magazine when Sean was having his foot surgery.  I didn’t write it down, but it looks like that magazine is “Taste of Home“).  That requirement ends here!

Ingredients
1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 cups all purpose flour (I have also used whole wheat flour with success)
1 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup minature chocolate chips
1/2 cup walnuts (optional)
~14 ounces milk chocolate (not semi-sweet chocolate) dipping chocolate
~1 ounce baker’s white chocolate (optional)

Steps

  1. Cream the butter and brown sugar until fluffy
  2. Add the flour, sweetened condensed milk and vanilla and mix well
  3. Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts.
  4. Shape into little balls and place them on baking sheets or plates lined with wax paper.  I typically make them slightly larger than bite-size, roughly 1 1/4″ in diameter.
  5. Refrigerate for an hour or until firm.  Sometimes I will pull them out after a half hour and reroll them when they can better retain their shape. 
  6. Melt the milk chocolate coating (I use a double broiler). 
  7. Dip each ball in the coating and place back on wax paper.  A dipping spoon makes this effort a lot easier!🙂
  8. Refrigerate for 15 minutes until the coating sets.
  9. Place the white chocolate bars into a ziplock bag (ideally near a bottom corner of the bag) and microwave it for 15 seconds.  If I don’t have white chocolate, I use extra milk chocolate for the garnish.
  10. Take scissors and and snip off a tiny, tiny, tiny piece of one of the bottom corners of the zip lock bag (ideally the corner closest to the melted chocolate).  Looky here!  An instant pastry bag!
  11. Drizzle the white chocolate over the truffles.  I’ve found you don’t need many artistic skills for this step– anything tends to look neat.
  12. Place truffles back in the fridge for 5-10 more minutes until the white chocolate sets.

Entry filed under: Food, Truffles. Tags: .

Practice Makes Perfect links for 2007-12-19

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ywrites  |  December 18, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Wow! These look amazingly delicous!
    I’ll definitlely try and make these this Christmas!

    Thanks
    Yasmeen
    http://www.ywrites.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. Chriggy  |  December 18, 2007 at 11:28 am

    I’ve been waiting for you to put this up🙂
    I’ll have to try them

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  December 18, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Wow, lucky for you, Chriggy, I got stuck on a conference call where all I had to do was be around in case technical questions came up. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  December 18, 2007 at 11:46 am

    drool

    Reply
  • 5. amy  |  December 18, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    These are sitting in my office right now…I made them this weekend; recipe is from Taste Of Home magazine, Dec/Jan 2005 issue; I also recommend their snowman truffles and their caramel truffles, which are also sitting in my office….

    one thing; in the instruction part of your recipe, you refer to EVAPORATED milk; make sure you don’t use that, but are using what you listed in your INGREDIENT section, which is sweetened condensed milk. Also, the original recipe calls for using semi-sweet chocolate to coat them (not milk choc); and I find if you add a tbsp of shortening to the chocolate, it coats them better without changing the flavor.

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  December 18, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    @Amy – I made a couple of batches where I accidently used semi-sweet chocolate coating instead of milk chocolate and they didn’t seem to go over as well. My personal preference is the milk chocolate. Good catch on the condensed milk typo– I’ll correct that!!!

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  December 18, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    All,
    Here’s a link to the Taste of Home article Amy mentioned! You should click at your own risk— they list the nutritional information of two truffles. Now I feel a bit guilty about all the ones I ingested last week!🙂

    http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Cookie-Dough-Truffles

    Reply
  • 8. amy  |  December 18, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Perhaps I’ll give the milk choc coating a try next time. I have to say, mine don’t look near as pretty as the ones in the picture! I think I make them too big.

    Reply
  • 9. geekhiker  |  December 19, 2007 at 1:15 am

    Oh, great, now I’ve got drool all over my keyboard…😉

    Reply
  • 10. Anne Sawyer  |  December 24, 2007 at 6:31 am

    I never use sweetened condensed milk. I find evaporated milk gives a creamier flavor without being too sweet. The rest of the ingredients are sweet enough.

    Reply
  • 11. Carolyn  |  December 24, 2007 at 11:01 am

    Vicky’s directions are much more detailed than the instructions on the link. If I feel ambitious someday, I may try out this recipe, because those things were delicious!

    Reply
  • 12. chriggy  |  December 24, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    We made them last night. They came out delicious!

    WARNING!: Do NOT overheat the chocolate when melting it. It turns into a crumbly mess. Our bowl now looks like a bowl of ground beef. However, it turns out that these chocolate “crumbles” almost taste better than the original chocolate, so we plan to use this failed experiment instead of chocolate chips in other recipies. There is no way I am throwing out 12oz of Ghirardeli chocolate.

    Reply
  • 13. Aaron  |  December 27, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    I didn’t know there was such a thing as a dipping spoon. I’m going to have to be on the lookout for one of those. (But something tells me it’s not half as exciting as getting “dirty” the old-fashioned way.😀

    Reply
  • 14. The Groomsman Reunion Tour « TGAW  |  May 27, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    […] area with three dogs, made a quick trip to Safeway and then my Mom and I frantically worked on some Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles. The truffles were rushed and not quite as pretty looking as usual, but they still retained that oh […]

    Reply
  • 15. Cool Chocolate images | Everything to do with Chocolate  |  April 4, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    […] View recipe at: tgaw.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough… […]

    Reply
  • 16. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles | Planet Distro  |  April 10, 2012 at 4:12 am

    […] recipe at: tgaw.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough…, by Vicky TGAW Posted: April 10th, 2012 | Filed under: DelicioUS | Tags: chip, Chocolate, […]

    Reply
  • […] tgaw.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough… […]

    Reply
  • […] tgaw.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough… […]

    Reply
  • […] tgaw.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough… […]

    Reply
  • 20. Nice Christmas Truffles Recipe photos | Christmas  |  January 10, 2013 at 5:01 am

    […] tgaw.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough… […]

    Reply
  • 21. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles | recipepins.tk  |  March 10, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    […] View recipe at: tgaw.wordpress.com/2007/12/18/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough… […]

    Reply
  • […] “Hey, I can half-ass this! I’ll just dip the eggs in chocolate like we do Oreos or truffles.” (which the Instructables article actually covers on Step 5 – Alternative […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


