All Things Olive Festival

May 27, 2008 at 7:15 pm 9 comments

A couple of years ago, my friend Meredith took me to a wine tasting at Villa Appalachia off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We enjoyed our wine sampling and then moved upstairs for lunch. While we waited for our food, we snacked on bread and some nearby olive oil. It was the BEST olive oil I’ve ever had in my life. It was easily the highlight of my day– Better than all the wines combined! It turns the olive oil was freshly pressed, using olives from the owners’ property in Italy.

So earlier this year when I saw an advertisement for the “All Things Olive Festival” at the same winery, featuring olives and olive oils from various regions, I was committed from the start. In fact, I made sure to work both Trail Days and All Things Olive into one weekend.

So the Sunday after Trail Days, Sean, Lud and I headed down the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway. We enjoyed a series of tastings – olive oils, olives, balsamic vinegars (including one that was 25 years old) and wines. We got to enjoy the beautiful scenery and finally, we had a nice lunch provided by the folks at Zeppoli’s. I thought it was a good day and well worth the $15 dollar fee.


Beautiful Villa Appalachia in Floyd County


Olive oils waiting for me to taste


Sean tastes an olive


Lud gets a sample of balsamic vinegar


Wine tasting!!!


The aftermath – oil stained sheet and plate full of pits.


Clematis at the winery


Beautiful Rock Castle Gorge from the Blue Ridge Parkway

I thoroughly enjoyed this event and would highly recommend it to almost everyone. You probably should like olives before signing up to go. For example, based on one of his Flickr comments, I venture to say that Clint is not the optimal attendee:

I actually think they are just about the worst taste in existence (especially the green ones) — out of edible food. Obviously I’m not including feces, rotten milk, and non-edible/non-food. But I have drank egg nog so rotten that it had chewy chunks in it (And then proceeded to finish Carolyn’s) – infinitely more edible than olives. The thought of martinis with olives sickens me.

And the only way to make an olive taste even worse? Put a pimento in it! They managed to one-up themselves!

If, on the other hand, you do not think chewy, chunky, rotten egg nog tastes “infinitely” better than olives… you might want to give the festival a try in the coming years. ๐Ÿ™‚

More pictures of the All Things Olive Festival are available on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Clint L, Lud Eng, Meredith Webber, Olives, Sean, Uncategorized, Villa Appalachia, wine. Tags: .

The Groomsman Reunion Tour Countdown to Gogol Bordello (Again)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  May 27, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    I can’t stop laughing (out loud) at the egg nog comment.

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  May 27, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    LOL I’m so glad I said that now! You worked that in there well! And I’d still choose a glass of that eggnog over 2 olives. If it’s just 1 olive, i might go for it based on having less total volume/swallows required. But the taste would probably linger longer… eww eww eww.

    I do love olive oil though, but can’t see getting excited over it, which is possibly because I don’t like olives. But if I had bread, a line of differnet olive oils to try on it would be quite awesome.

    As long as there are no actual olives nearby, plugging my nose with their stench-smell.๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  May 31, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Hmmm… what if I like olive oil, but not olives?

    Reply
  • 4. Anne  |  May 31, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    I hope that egg nog was not at my house.

    Reply
  • 5. Dave  |  June 1, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Olives and wine are a good combo!

    Reply
  • 6. Clint  |  June 1, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Actually.. I do like olive oil. Just can’t see getting that excited over it. When we have the garlic roll with our spaghetti, I prefer to dip it in the spaghetti๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 7. Carolyn  |  June 1, 2008 at 8:45 am

    No, there’s never been rotten egg nog at your house, but you had the infamous ant syrup.๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 8. Anne  |  June 1, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Forgot that. I think I would rather serve rotten egg nog.

    Reply
  • 9. Clint  |  June 1, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    …and I would rather drink it, rather than finishing my pancakes only to notice the syrup bottle full of ants. I douse my pancakes in syrup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


