Kelly’s Knob – View of VT From the AT

April 22, 2007 at 12:25 am 8 comments

Tomorrow I fly to Kansas, but today I hiked my mountains.  Lud, Jimmie and Henry and I headed to Kelly’s Knob.  Kelly’s Knob is just 120 yards off the Appalachian Trail on John’s Creek Mountain.  It isn’t the best view on the RATC-maintained trail, but it has a special distinction — you can see the the Virginia Tech campus (and my neighborhood) from the knob.   After the tragedy this week, it seemed the most fitting destination on the entire Appalachian Trail.


Lane Stadium and Cassell Colliseum from Kelly’s Knob

Lud and I took this opportunity to hang a VT flag at the knob.  We chose to wrap it around a tree trunk to help it better survive any wind.  The tree we selected is a blazed tree right next to the connector trail back to the AT.  In a way, it is a blaze back to Blacksburg, a blaze back home.


Blaze back home

We did have one mishap.  Henry was unsupervised long enough to roll in poo.  We don’t know what kind of poo (perhaps I should have paid more attention to the scat display at the Vail Nature Center), but Lud told Sean, “It’s definitely not domestic and if it is, I don’t want to know what it’s from!”

When we arrived at the knob, Henry’s smelly presence was not embraced by the other hikers.  A few of them actually fled!  As a result, Henry was banned from the rock outcropping.  I tied him up to a tree far away from any people.  Here is a quick shot of outcast Henry.   He was so shunned, even the camera felt it unfit to focus on him (you should be thankful– now you can’t see all detailed stains on his coat).


Can you find the outcast?

On a side note, we encountered two thru-hikers who have already made it this far into Virginia!  Their trailblog is at http://twodaves.blogspot.com

We had a beautiful weather and beautiful views.  It was a great hike and I found it to be therapeutic.  Mountains are my favorite Mass. 

More pictures from our Kelly’s Knob hike are available on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Animals, Appalachian Trail, Beagles, Henry, Hiking, Jimmie, John's Creek Mountain, Kelly's Knob, Lud Eng, Virginia Tech.

Virginia Tech Massacre: Hate Group Keeps Wounds Fresh Season Comparison: Kelly’s Knob

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Appalachian Trail: Four State Challenge « TGAW  |  May 17, 2007 at 6:32 am

    […] 17th, 2007 Here is an excerpt from the blog of the two thru-hikers Lud and I met on Kelly’s Knob.  From their Half Way post: And, maybe the coolest part yet – The Traveler invented the quad-state […]

    Reply
  • 2. ISO: Fireworks From a Hike « TGAW  |  July 1, 2007 at 1:14 am

    […] Knob (Appalachian Trail) From Kelly’s Knob you can see Blacksburg and Virginia Tech…. so it makes sense you would be able to see fireworks above Blacksburg.  The area has […]

    Reply
  • 3. Luke Underwood  |  January 18, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Hi. I live in Radford and I have clear view of a mountain in my front yard that I presume to be Kelly Knob but I am not entirely sure. In fact, it looks like several mountains. If I sent the picture do you think you could validate my assumptions? That would be very helpful. I don’t know anyone period who knows that Kelly Mountain is. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 4. Luke Underwood  |  March 22, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Hi Vicky. I tried emailing you a few months back about kelly knob but to no avail. The email wouldn’t go through. Do you have an alternative email that works? Thanks.

    Reply
  • 5. Rocky Gap « TGAW  |  May 17, 2008 at 12:01 am

    […] At that trailhead, a vast majority of recreational hikers will travel northbound to take in the views at Kelly’s Knob. But, I also recommend traveling southbound. Going down to VA-632 and back is a 4 mile round trip […]

    Reply
  • 6. chefja  |  July 1, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Kellys knob, wonderful place. lived about 3/4 mile straight down the mountain from there for years. It was my playground. reminder: move back to newport, va.

    Reply
  • 7. kevlar  |  June 20, 2010 at 6:14 am

    Is it really necessary to tag everything with a VT symbol?

    Reply
  • 8. Kelly’s Knob in the Snow « TGAW  |  January 10, 2011 at 1:02 am

    […] top was as gorgeous as usual. As I have written before, you can see the Virginia Tech campus from Kelly’s Knob. That particular day, we didn’t take advantage of it. None of us were courageous/foolish […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

3D Printed Products