Sound Sleepers!

December 22, 2008 at 10:47 pm 15 comments

Last night I wasn’t feeling too hot, so I went to bed early. In the middle of the night I heard a really loud *SNAP* sound, but I promptly fell back to sleep. I wasn’t the only one. The two cats didn’t budge. Jimmie reportedly got up briefly and laid back down and most telling– Henry didn’t make a peep. Henry. The Beagle! The one who loves to aroo! To put it in perspective, this is how my brother describes Henry:

He would bark at an ant taking a shit on a piece of cotton.

By the time I woke up in the morning, the sound was a distant memory, but I did ask Ryan about it.

“Mmpf. What was that sound last night? Did I dream that?”

Ryan said he heard it too, but we shrugged off. As Ryan shaved, he speculated on possible causes. Thinking that maybe the foundation shifted, he came back in the bedroom and looked out the window above my head. He got an odd look on his face.

“IS IT SNOW?!?!??!?!” I said and jumped up anxious to see a white dusting on the ground.

Instead I saw this:


Ryan’s bedroom window

In the middle of the night, someone took it upon themselves to shoot the bedroom window with a buckshot:


Picture of the outside


Another view of the inside

So let me recap:

The window above the bed got shot at.

And two dogs, two cats and two people managed to sleep through it!

Obviously no one in the room was hurt. That, I hope we would have actually noticed. : )

And yes, the police were called and they started an investigation. I felt for the poor guys as they searched for evidence outside the bedroom window. Not only was it unusually cold, but that’s the compost pile. To do their jobs, the forensic team had to search through our old rotting food! : )

Anyway, try not to fret too much and certainly don’t lose sleep over this incident.

We didn’t!

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City, Henry, Jay, Jimmie, Mollie, Ryan Somma, Stench.

Norman Rockwell Would LOVE Creative Commons A Hiker in Gangland?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  December 22, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Welcome to the neighborhood!

    (Seriously though… Wow… Just… wow.)

    Reply
  • 2. TGAW  |  December 22, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    @Clint – At least it wasn’t a nuke. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  December 23, 2008 at 1:20 am

    Um… wtf? Sorry, only thought that actually came to mind after reading this…

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  December 23, 2008 at 4:15 am

    @geekhiker – Welp, your thought isn’t too far off from mine this evening around 3:47 AM…. when it happened again.

    This time, though, we went through the effort of waking up.

    Reply
  • 5. Matt  |  December 23, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Oh, shit! That is crazy. I’m glad you guys are all right…damn.

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  December 23, 2008 at 4:52 am

    @Matt – What are you doing up so late? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 7. Matt  |  December 23, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Heh, actually it’s “what am I doing up so early”…I was up at 4 today, woke up before my usual 4:30 alarm could go off. I have to be out the door by 6, and I’m slow in the morning. Nevermind me, though–I’m just happy that nothing really serious happened to you two. Try to have a good day today. *hugs*

    Reply
  • 8. gaugeyagee  |  December 23, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Jebus… 2 nights in a row? What can be done about that?? Show that fool (those fools?) that science > redneck.

    Reply
  • 9. Carolyn  |  December 23, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Damn! They did it again? D’oh!

    Did you call the police again?

    Reply
  • 10. Thomas  |  December 23, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Just glad you guys are okay! I saw your photos on Flickr and did the WTF thing… Like @Geekhiker.

    Reply
  • 11. tgaw  |  December 23, 2008 at 11:33 am

    @Carolyn – Yup and they have been here off and on since 4 AM.

    Reply
  • 12. Serenity  |  December 24, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    That’s crazy! And 2 nights in a row is just INSANE! Is Elizabeth City really that dangerous? Do the cops have any idea who’s doing it? Stay safe!!!

    Reply
  • 13. Chriggy  |  December 24, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    And now your car? With an actual bullet?

    Reply
  • 14. A Hiker in Gangland? « TGAW  |  December 26, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    […] Monday night (the night after the window shot we slept through), they fired a bird shot at the same bedroom at around 3:47 AM. This time we DID get up. The shot […]

    Reply
  • 15. Dear Neighborhood Gangster | ideonexus.com  |  December 30, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    […] probably confused by the fact that we slept through your message, and didn’t get it until morning. You see, being a nerd, I heavily insulated my house with […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

3D Printed Products