Introducing Dyson Lowell

August 6, 2013 at 12:07 pm 8 comments

And now we are a family of four! Ryan and I recently welcomed a second son into our family.

Sagan Holds Dyson (Portrait)
Our First Son Holds Our Second Son!

We named him Dyson Lowell. Dyson is the surname of a family of scientists and technologists including father Freeman, the original describer and namesake of the Dyson Sphere, and daughter Esther, visitor to the International Space Station in 2009. Lowell is the name of my dear father who passed away a year ago.

dysonlowellnamesakes-small
Freeman Dyson, Esther Dyson, Lowell Sawyer

Like with his older brother Sagan, I don’t know where little Dyson’s aspirations and interests will be. But, I do have a wish for my second son. One thing that particularly struck me about my father is even when he was in tough financial times, he would still have humorous stories to share. His face would get red and tears would start to form in his eyes as he cackled and relayed his tales.

And that is my hope for little Dyson. Whatever he grows up to be, I hope that even in the stressful times, he is able to find some humor in life.

Entry filed under: Dyson.

Happy 3rd Birthday, American Chestnuts! Sagan’s Peak and Dyson’s Peak

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Glendon Mellow  |  August 6, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    Yay! Congratulations! And what an awesome name (again!)

    Look how delighted Sagan is: amazing.

    Reply
    • 2. tgaw  |  August 18, 2013 at 2:39 pm

      Thanks Glendon! Sagan is shaping up to be a wonderfully engaged older brother. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Mandy Wilson  |  August 6, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    And what a beautiful family you have! Congratulations, Vicky, Ryan, Sagan and Dyson!

    Reply
    • 4. tgaw  |  August 18, 2013 at 2:39 pm

      Thanks Mandy! I hope our family can follow in the footsteps of yours and have many adventures– indoors as well as outdoors!

      Reply
  • 5. Marissa  |  August 6, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    Love this post, Vicky! I’m remembering your dad and smiling at the thought of his contagious laugh as I read your words. You have so much to share with your sons….and so many of your dad’s stories to recount! 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. tgaw  |  August 18, 2013 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks for posting Marissa. I love my father’s laugh and you are right– it was highly contagious. (One reason I used to LOVE to see comedies in the theatre with him– I always laughed harder when he was sitting by my side)

      Reply
  • 7. narami  |  August 7, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    Goodness he looks a lot like Sagan or I’m crazy?! He’s beautiful!! Congrats again to everyone over there, specially to big brother Sagan because he gets the best part, someone to.play witb!!

    Reply
    • 8. tgaw  |  August 18, 2013 at 2:42 pm

      Narami, you are right! The day he was born, we thought he looked just like Sagan, only fatter. (Dyson weighed two pounds more at birth). When I look back at young Sagan pictures, the two look so similar — I might have to rely on the tags and timestamps to tell which one is which. Especially since Dyson is wearing all of Sagan’s old clothes : )

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

3D Printed Products