Take a Child Outside Week – Falls Ridge

September 30, 2008 at 10:33 pm 9 comments

Today is September 30th, making it my last chance to take an actual child (Larry doesn’t count) outdoors to celebrate Take a Child Outside Week. So this afternoon, my friend Mandy and I took her two children over to the Nature Conservancy‘s Falls Ridge Preserve for a quick hike.

As I mentioned before, Falls Ridge is a little off the beaten path, making its beauty all the more special. Our quick trip today didn’t disappoint! In just about an hour, the children got to see trees just starting to turn, a deer hop across the field, a waterfall, a creek, an old furnace, some caves, a weimaraner, and a surprisingly celebrated snail.


Gwen and Xavier walk in a field


The leaves are a-turning!


Gwen and Xavier on the bridge above the falls


Xavier holds up a snail

Once we left the preserve, the great views were not over. A brief rain provided us a very lovely rainbow over beautiful Ellett Valley!


Rainbow over the Blacksburg Country Club

We had a great trip and I very much enjoyed catching up with my friend Mandy at the same time! More pictures of our outing to Falls Ridge can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Falls Ridge, Hiking. Tags: .

300,000 Views Project Runway and Nature!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  October 1, 2008 at 6:52 am

    My dogwood is starting to turn also.

    Reply
  • 2. passionphish  |  October 1, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    …So, so jealous….

    So jealous….

    …sigh…

    We sat around the house while I slept…

    … I hate kansas and the night shift…

    Your awesome!

    Reply
  • 3. Anne  |  October 1, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Another Gwen?

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  October 1, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    @Carolyn – Cool

    @passionphish – Yikes, nightshift sounds rough.

    @Anne – Yup– this one is spelled G-W-E-N instead of G-W-Y-N

    Reply
  • 5. Carolyn  |  October 1, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Yeah, I was confused when I saw the twitter. I was like “Aren’t Penn & Gwyn in Ohio now?” Then I was like “Wait a minute, Penn’s name isn’t Xavier.” So that was that. I figured out those were other kids.

    Reply
  • 6. Vicky  |  October 6, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    And here is my friend Mandy’s Recap!

    Reply
  • 7. Aaron  |  October 7, 2008 at 6:27 am

    I really enjoyed that first picture.

    Reply
  • 8. TGAW  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:20 am

    @Aaron – Thanks. I think my favorite is Xavier with the snail. I like that big giant smile at a simple discovery.

    Reply
  • 9. Reminder – Take a Child Outside Week! « TGAW  |  September 22, 2011 at 1:01 am

    […] in 2007. If not, don’t forget there is adventure to be found in the little things– as young Xavier demonstrated when he discovered a snail in 2008. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


