Attack of the Christmas Dragons

December 9, 2007 at 6:45 pm 4 comments

Last year in late December, I was on a business trip in Wichita, Kansas.  Even if I can’t rollerblade or geocache, I do try to get outside and explore places when I’m on a trip.  So the week before Christmas, I found myself wandering the streets of downtown Wichita looking at Christmas lights.  For the most part, the light entities were expected– toy soldiers, wreaths, lollipops, trees.  Then I came across something I thought was pretty unique.  A Christmas… Dragon.  I snapped a picture of it:


Christmas Dragon in Wichita, Kansas 2006

Last week, I visited Ritzy’s Fantasy of Lights in Evansville, Indiana.  It is a drive-thru display of lights in Garvin Park brought to you by numerous volunteer groups including Easter Seals, Kiwanis, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, National Electrical Contractors Association and local Teamsters.  Alone it’s pretty impressive, and with my previous experience, it managed to expose Wichita as not being as unique as I had originally thought:


Christmas Dragon in Evansville, Indiana 2007

It turns out the concept of Christmas Dragons isn’t all that outrageous either.  A quick Google search uncovers a healthy population.  There is a Christmas Dragon play.  You can get a Christmas Dragon cross-stitch pattern.  One artist uses dragons each year in her holiday cards.  And in case you want to lead a class in drawing your their own versions, there is an article on “How to Draw a Christmas Dragon

How about that?  Kansas and Indiana may not sound like glorious destinations, but together they revealed one of mythology’s most fantastic creatures is alive and well… and apparently Christian.

Entry filed under: Christmas, Dragon, Indiana, Kansas, Travel. Tags: .

Rollerblading in Indiana (State #21!!!) More on Ritzy’s Fantasy of Lights

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  December 9, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    And yet, I can’t help but be reminded of the Electrical Parade at Disneyland from when I was kid…

    Reply
  • 2. Aaron  |  December 10, 2007 at 11:33 am

    A business trip without Geocaching? Sounds like a boring business trip to me.😛

    Reply
  • 3. More on Ritzy’s Fantasy of Lights « TGAW  |  December 10, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    […] 10, 2007 So maybe the Christmas Dragon isn’t exactly unique.  There were still a lot of displays at Ritzy’s Fantasy of Lights which were new to me.  I […]

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  December 11, 2007 at 11:33 am

    @Aaron– Yeah, sometimes you have no choice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


