A Hiker in Gangland?

December 26, 2008 at 10:56 pm 9 comments

Welp… if you have been following my comments feed or my Flickr feed, you may have picked up that there have been a couple more incidents involving guns.

On Monday night (the night after the window shot we slept through), they fired a bird shot at the same bedroom at around 3:47 AM. This time we DID get up. The shot damaged siding but did not make it through into the house. The police were promptly on the scene.

Tuesday night, there were no incidents… but then Wednesday morning when I went to pack up my car, I noticed a peculiarity:


Huh. That bullet hole wasn’t there before….

This shot definitely did not occur Tuesday night. Because I don’t go to the back of my car often, it could have been there for days without drawing attention. Unlike the house shootings, this shot used a shotgun slug and it got quite a bit more penetration than those little bird shots. It went through the entire back door, bisected a Swifter Wet Jet, and then went through the back seat of my car.


The “Exit Wound” for my XTerra door.


The damaged Swifter Wet Jet and the hole going into the backseat

When the police came to check out my car, I opened the trunk and immediately the office asked, “Whose blue bandanna is that?!?”

“It’s mine,” I said, “I use it for hiking.”

“Well,” he said, “That’s a Crips bandanna and that we mostly have Bloods around here. You shouldn’t leave that lying around!”

Yup. That was definitely not something I ever had to consider in Southwest Virginia!


Vicky unknowingly supports the Crips

I don’t think the bandanna is the most promising explanation– it was pretty difficult to see. Nonetheless, I still promptly buried the bandanna at the very bottom of my closet where no one will ever see it, including myself! 🙂 I like green better anyways.

For those who are concerned, do know:

1) It still appears that intimidation is the motive, not harm.
2) We are optimistic the mystery will be solved shortly.
3) Security cameras are getting installed in the house this coming week.
4) The neighbors have been outraged by the incidents. They are very supportive and are keeping their eyes peeled.
5) Ryan reports an formidable police presence on the street now.

If you still wish to worry about me, you can put it on hold for about 10 days. Tomorrow morning, I leave for another trip. Thanks to a very generous relative, I’ll be on a private yacht touring the British Virgin Islands. Throughout the trip, the boat will be moving from island to island.

It’ll be a much harder target than a parked X-Terra.

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City, Hiking, shooting, XTerra.

Sound Sleepers! Greetings From Virgin Gorda

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  December 27, 2008 at 1:09 am

    And people worry about me living in “big, scary LA”. Glad to see the neighbors are outraged by the whole thing. Hopefully the mystery will be solved soon.

    In the meantime, I hope you don’t suffer too much being away in the BVI!

    Reply
  • 2. Carolyn  |  December 27, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    We can still worry about Ryan though.

    Reply
  • 3. Anne  |  December 28, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I was thinking about Ryan, too, Carolyn.

    Reply
  • 4. TGAW  |  December 28, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    @Carolyn – Yes, yes you can!

    @Anne – Thanks, I am sure he appreciates your kind thoughts.

    Reply
  • 5. Stacy  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Crips and Bloods in Elizabeth City?? This sounds like the setup for a South Park episode…

    I hope they catch the perp(s) soon … any clue why someone would want to intimidate either of you?

    Reply
  • 6. Dear Neighborhood Gangster | ideonexus.com  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    […] this about nerds, and wanted to make sure you really really inconvenienced us. So that’s why you shot TGAW’s car. How clever of you to make us call her auto insurance to have that repaired too. You made us make […]

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  January 1, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Just as a quick update, there have been no more incidents. Let’s hope it stays that way!

    Reply
  • 8. Christina | AmiExpat  |  January 5, 2009 at 5:16 am

    Holy smokes! Glad there have been no addition incidents. Where we lived in Richmond we regularly heard gunshots, but nothing ever hit our property. Take care you guys!

    Reply
  • 9. Battle of the Bullet Holes « TGAW  |  February 18, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    […] Here’s a picture of it… next to my XTerra… which sports a REAL bullet hole. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

3D Printed Products