Brooklyn Botanic Garden – Science Celebrities

May 27, 2011 at 1:00 am 4 comments

Part of the Brooklyn Botanic Garden is a Celebrity Path. It’s a nice paved path the winds through nature that bears the names of famous people who were born in or had lived in Brooklyn.

My parents have a subscription to the National Enquirer and I have noticed that Ryan isn’t caught perusing its pages anywhere near as often as I. And so, it wasn’t surprising that on our short walk over the Celebrity Path, Ryan’s chin was a level ninety degrees whereas mine was angled downwards reading all the names.

That is, until I spied this name:

Brooklyn Botanical Gardens - Celebrity Walk - Isaac Asimov
Isaac Asimov!

And then this name:

Brooklyn Botanical Gardens - Celebrity Walk - Carl Sagan
Carl Sagan!

Suddenly Ryan had quite a bit more interest in the names he was walking over. : )

Entry filed under: Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Carl Sagan, Isaac Asimov, New York, Travel. Tags: .

Brooklyn Botanic Garden – Surprise Hanami Brooklyn Botanic Garden – Plant Architecture Mini Safari

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gasstationdave  |  May 27, 2011 at 2:02 am

    That’s totally neat! =)

    I love The Foundation trilogy best by Asimov, and once, while in Ithaca NY, I think it was very close to Cornell University, I saw a really wild mountain like thing or sheer cliff wall with a bay window that they say Carl Sagan lived in at one point.

    Thanks for this post TGAW!

    You and Ryan find the coolest daggon things I’m telling ya!

    Reply
  • 2. Kitty  |  May 29, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    I love your description about Ryan, whose “chin was a level ninety degrees” during your walk…. what a creative way to say he wasn’t interested (until you spotted those two!). This makes me want to get to a botanical garden and explore (and take more photos)… and blog! I’ve been seriously neglecting my blog since moving into this house in late March. Anyway, I digress… great post! I love the installments!

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  May 30, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    *geek swoon*

    You ever thought about writing travel books for geeks?

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  June 2, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    @Dave – Thanks! I just read a nice little Asimov Short Story in “Nine Tomorrows” I rather liked. It was called “I’m in Marsport Without Hilda”.

    @Kitty – Haha, thanks! I’m sure your busy, but when you do find the time to blog, I’ll be excited to read what you’ve been up to!

    @geekhiker – Goodness, you are loading me up on book requests! I think just recently you mentioned a tour of Botanical Gardens. This geek travel book sounds like a more interesting project!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


