Spring Peeper Serenade

March 23, 2009 at 5:30 am 5 comments

Saturday, my family held a party for my brother’s 30th birthday party. We estimate about fifty people were in attendance. We had catered food from Famous Dave’s, an amazing video presentation by Aaron Evans, live music by numerous friends and an ice cream cake.

When it was time for that ice cream cake, the crowd gathered in the living room and kitchen, my cousin Samantha lit a series of candles that formed a “3” and a “0” and the whole house belted out a rendition of the Happy Birthday song.

Three days earlier, I celebrated my own birthday at Fairy Stone State Park in Virginia. I didn’t have a party, but I had an even larger crowd sing to me. At dusk, Ryan Somma, the dogs and I were on a Nature Trail at the Fairystone Farms Wildlife Management Area. We passed by some marshlands which were inhabited by little one inch chorus frogs called “Spring Peepers“.

They may be small, but their song most certainly is not. These guys were loud!

Here’s a quick video of the most impressive Spring Peeper display I’ve personally encountered. If you need a frame of reference for their volume, listen for Ryan Somma’s voice saying “Wow” about three seconds in.


Spring Peepers Sing at Fairy Stone Wildlife Management Farms

How do these little frogs do it? Creative Commons and Flickr have the answer:


Spring Peeper at Work (Photo by Norm Walsh)

In birthdays past, I have been sung to by family. I have been sung to by friends. I have been sung to by the reluctant staff of a local Red Lobster.

But this song on the evening of my 34th birthday…

This is my favorite birthday song yet.

Entry filed under: Birthday, Fairy Stone State Park, Frog, Hiking, Nature, Spring Peeper. Tags: .

Weekly Winners – March 15th – March 21, 2009 Hearts in Nature: Teamwork

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sheer  |  March 23, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Happy birthday – and your brother is not supposed to be 30. That’s making me feel old..đŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  March 23, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    @Sheer – Yeah, I totally agree. Somehow having a baby brother who is 30 makes me feel a lot older than myself turning 34. đŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. Fairy Stone State Park « TGAW  |  June 29, 2009 at 5:38 am

    […] Fauna Although our cabin log had numerous reports of a three-legged squirrel, we did not get to see that little guy. But we did get to see a Red Eft on the Little Mountain Falls Trail. We got to see both bats and a heron at dusk. Finally, we were serenaded quite loudly by Spring Peepers. […]

    Reply
  • […] hike. Ryan did catch a shot of a frog at a creek crossing south of Firey Run Road. Finally, like my 35th Birthday Hike we were serenaded by spring peepers near the end of our […]

    Reply
  • 5. Family Hike: Julie J. Metz Wetland Bank | TGAW  |  March 16, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    […] plentiful. As dusk neared, we had a wonderful serenade of spring peepers. It was reminiscent of the Spring Peeper Serenade from my 35th Birthday, though not quite as loud. During our hike we also saw lots of souvenirs left behind by beavers (in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


