Poor Brooklyn Bridge

January 22, 2008 at 11:57 pm 5 comments

Aww, poor Brooklyn Bridge. It’s had a tough month a half. It got shot down in I Am Legend. It decayed and collapsed in the History Channel‘s Life After People and it didn’t fare so well in Cloverfield either.


Brooklyn Bridge’s Fate – 12/14/2007 through 1/22/2008

I think this surpasses the destruction in 1998 when the Brooklyn Bridge was destroyed by Godzilla AND Deep Impact‘s tsunami.

I guess it could be worse. It could be The Statue of Liberty (see Movies That Mangle the Statue of Liberty and Cinema’s Best Attacks on the Statue of Liberty and of course, Wikipedia).

P.S. My opinions on the films/documentaries mentioned in this post:

I Am Legend – I had issues with it, but it was okay. I hate CGI animals. The real animal, the German Shepard, saved the film for me, providing the most emotional scenes.

Life After People – I still hate CGI animals, but found the documentary thought-provoking. If you are interested in this subject, check out Discover Magazine’s Earth Without People article (heads up- in Discover Magazine’s speculation, dogs DIE!)

Cloverfield – Loved it.

Godzilla – I really liked Godzilla. Yeah, that’s right- I liked Godzilla. What sold me on Godzilla was I thought the reptiles acted very genuine, like real animals. Their mannerisms and reactions just seemed very authentic to me.

Deep Impact – I actually don’t remember much about this film, but I do remember what saved Elijah Wood and his lover. The Appalachian Mountains, mutha fucka!

Entry filed under: Brooklyn Bridge, Cloverfield, Discover, I Am Legend, Life After People.

links for 2008-01-21 links for 2008-01-23

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HokieTT  |  January 23, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Not everyone wants to destroy the Brooklyn Bridge. It’s frequently used as a backdrop by some artists I like. I guess they’re the John Muir/TRs of NYC, since they are preserving what everyone else is always destroying in their movies. Here’s some I thought of:


    1:37-1:45 mark


    1:30-1:55 mark


    3:02 mark


    0:51-1:03, 2:08-2:12, 3:50 mark


    Opening scene, 1:23, 1:49, 4:17 mark


    0:34 mark

    Reply
  • 2. HokieTT  |  January 23, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    TGAW tells me tonight’s Project Runway had the traveling over the vaunted Brooklyn Bridge…another triumphant crossing!

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  January 24, 2008 at 12:05 am

    I can’t believe I missed “Life After People”… *sigh*

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  January 24, 2008 at 12:19 am

    @GeekHIker– It’s playing again on the East Coast right now. I believe it will also air February 2nd at 5 PM.

    Reply
  • 5. Aaron  |  January 24, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Nothing makes a statement like destroying a landmark.

    (No one noticed the coffee shop on the corner getting destroyed.) šŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

3D Printed Products