Computer Literacy Program – Class 10 – Data, Information and Knowledge

December 22, 2009 at 1:00 pm 8 comments

Ryan will do more thorough posts about the curriculum, the activities, and the effectiveness of the program when all the classes are complete on ideonexus.com. These are just my own personal recaps and memories.

For the 10th Computer Literacy Class, Ryan spoke on “Data, Information and Knowledge.” He started the lecture off with Mindshare and the differences between Push and Pull Media. For something fun he talked about Internet Memes. He shared a number of examples including All Your Base and LOL Cats.

Ryan and I do try to throw in examples that the kids would recognize. On the slide full of LOL Cats, the kids spotted and pointed out a familiar face. Ryan’s cat, Mollie, made it into to presentation.


Mollie’s Appearance

After Memes, Ryan tackled a tough topic. He explained the differences between Data (raw facts), Information (data relating to each other) and Knowledge (internalized lessons and conclusions about the world around us). The boundaries between the three are sometimes ambiguous which makes it a trickier concept than Class 3’s Logic Gates. Unfortunately there isn’t a good way to explain it involving Henry. : )

But with trickiness came good discussions from a variety of contributors. Ryan shared a number of slides and asked the kids if it was Data, Information or Knowledge. They had different answers, but they all had reasons behind their answers which was impressive.

Computer Literacy Program - Data, Information, Knowledge - Directions to Port Discover
Directions to Port Discover – Data, Information or Knowledge?

Computer Literacy Program - Data, Information, Knowledge - Keyboard
Keyboard – Data, Information or Knowledge

With nine other classes under my belt, I am well accustomed to being beckoned to help. This particular class, a young lady waved me over. Instead of the usual questions about how to spell a URL or which file to copy, she whispered, “What is wrong with you?”

I was ill. Perhaps a few key observations caught her attention. Maybe she noted my decreased energy, the extra hoodie I wore over my sweater and my pasty skin. Together, she saw a pattern forming, a possible relation between the three. My answer to her question confirmed it. I didn’t realize it at the time, but I may have watched Data being converted to Information right before my groggy eyes.

This class was the very first class that ended early. I can’t say I was upset, I was rather anxious to go to bed. But for the future, Ryan and I have a few activity ideas we can add to this session to make it longer. A spreadsheet exercise, for example, would fit in well.

Entry filed under: Computer Literacy Program, Elizabeth City, Neighborhood Kids.

Computer Literacy Class – Glimpses of Vicky Happy Holidays!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  December 22, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Did you ever read “Silicon Snake Oil” by Cliff Stoll? It’s a little out of date, but the book (and its sequel, the name of which I can’t recall off-hand) touches on the whole data/knowledge thing really well…

    Also, when Ryan is done there, can he come to my office and train my (*ahem*, adult) users how to use a computer?

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  December 22, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    On second thought, maybe don’t read that book. A number of his predictions (like that the daily newspaper would never go away) were waaaay off base. Still, he did make some good arguments in the second book why good teachers are better investments for the classroom than expensive computers…

    Reply
  • […] for the Computer Literacy Program was on The Future. By this time, Ryan had caught my illness from Data, Information and Knowledge and needed to take a nap before class. The kids were amazing that day. Usually, the prelude to […]

    Reply
  • 4. Computer Literacy Program – Makeup Classes « TGAW  |  January 15, 2010 at 10:39 am

    […] Data, Information, Knowledge […]

    Reply
  • 5. The Neighborhood Girls, Cindy McGill and Mary Kay « TGAW  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:26 am

    […] got to hand everything out at the end of our Data, Information, Knowledge class. If you think Mary Kay is just for girls, think again. I was surrounded by boys and whenever a […]

    Reply
  • 6. Stephen Bunday  |  August 13, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.

    Reply
  • 7. Ryan Prevento  |  January 5, 2012 at 2:09 am

    I have been reading your site for several days. really love what you posted. by the way i’m doing study relating to this issue. do you happen to know other sites or maybe forums that I might get more info? thanks in advance.

    Reply
  • 8. URL  |  September 26, 2020 at 2:24 am

    affordable led grow lights his explanation

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

3D Printed Products