An Application of Autotomy

September 19, 2014 at 10:19 am 1 comment

Here’s an amusing stock photo captioned by the “It’s Like They Know Us” Tumblr Blog.

ToddlersAreEasy
I’m getting so much work done. Toddlers are easy.

For those of you with computers and without small children, it’s funny because it’s not true. My children, in particular, have a keen sense of when I’m working on something really important on the computer. They will both drop everything and approach my machine, sticky fingers widespread.

Autotomy - Me Spass Me Want to Delete Production Data
Me Spaz. Me Want to Delete Production Data

When I see them tettering my way, know what the first thing I do is? I quickly unplug my USB mouse. While they are distracted moving that around and doing futile clicks, I have just enough time to sign out of the production database server, save important documents, or move the laptop to a higher elevation. By the time they realize the mouse isn’t doing anything, the laptop (and all my production data!) are safe.

Autotomy - Autotomy in Action
Distracted by USB Mouse

I was enacting that one day and I realized I’m wasn’t particularly inventive. I was employing the exact same defense mechanism salamanders and seemingly other “lower” creatures have used for millions of years.

Autotomy.

I drop the USB mouse to distract the predator. The salamander drops its tail. : )

ecprincnotaildnco_ByGaryNafisOfCaliforniaHerps-SmallWithDyson
Salamander Dropping Tail (Photo by Gary Nafis of California Herps)
Distracted Modern Day Predator

Entry filed under: Autotomy, Nature, Parenting, Web Development. Tags: .

The Fussypants Song Open Source: Making a School Bus Wine Stopper with Blender, Shapeways, and Niles Bottle Stoppers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kittywilkin  |  September 19, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    You are SUCH a scientist and I SO love it! haha If only I could drop a milk-jug (if you get what I mean)… now THAT might be effective at diverting attention for a reasonably substantial amount of time. We have two wireless mice and a wireless keyboard that we shove in front of the kids when they fly toward the computer. It worked for about a week, and then they both decided they didn’t want their own keyboard and mouse… they wanted the one I was working on (of course).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


