Anne Frank and Views While Nursing

September 2, 2013 at 1:00 am Leave a comment

For many of those early nursing sessions with my second son, my view was exactly the same. I would be sitting on the floor of our dimly lit bedroom. Next to me, there was small crack in the closed curtains which provided the slightest sliver of outside. During the daytime, I could see the my neighbor’s crepe myrtle blooming and above it, the blue sky. Often I would see clouds and sometimes a black vulture would silently glide through my view.

I was reminded of Anne Frank.

This is by no means to say that breastfeeding is as bad as the Holocaust. I find it to be quite the opposite, in fact.

In her diary, Anne Frank mentions a horse-chestnut tree (Fun fact– Horse-chestnuts are actually in the same family of trees as buckeyes and are not closely related to the American chestnuts) three separate times. One of those mentions:

Nearly every morning I go to the attic to blow the stuffy air out of my lungs, from my favorite spot on the floor I look up at the blue sky and the bare chestnut tree, on whose branches little raindrops shine, appearing like silver, and at the seagulls and other birds as they glide on the wind. As long as this exists, I thought, and I may live to see it, this sunshine, the cloudless skies, while this lasts I cannot be unhappy.

In those hectic first weeks with a newborn where days and nights blur together, used diapers accumulate in little piles by the bed, and your own body doesn’t even feel like its your own anymore, my fatigued eyes found that little sliver of nature to be particularly peaceful. I could appreciate how meaningful and powerful a view of the outside can be, even if it is just a small glimpse. And if it meant that much to me, I can only imagine how very precious it was to Anne Frank.

Now that my son is older, we are getting out and about more. We are happily continuing our breastfeeding relationship and taking in a variety of views along the way. Last week, I started collecting shots of the things I see while nursing.

Enjoy!

View while nursing.  (Leesylvania State Park)
August 25, 2013 – Potomac River, Leesylvania Park

Tonight's view while nursing (Rockledge Mansion)
August 27, 2013 – Rockledge Mansion, Occoquan, Virginia

8/29/2013's View While Nursing...Sagan and Ryan play while we wait in the examination room for Dyson's Two Month Checkup.
August 29, 2013 – In the Examination Room Waiting for the Pediatrician

8/30/2013's View While Nursing...at a Steak and Shake eating supper.
August 30, 2013 – Eating Supper at Steak and Shake, Fredericksburg, VA

8/31/2013 View While Nursing...at the seashore.  (The dark blue object at the bottom is a chair pad I propped up to provide just a tad more privacy)
August 31, 2013 – At the Seashore, Virginia Beach, VA

Entry filed under: #ViewsWhileNursing, Anne Frank, Breastfeeding, Nature, trees. Tags: .

The Graeae Sisters and My Two Boys Views While Nursing – September 1st, 2013 – September 7th, 2013

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


