Baby in my Belly?????

May 20, 2013 at 1:00 am 3 comments

Redundant PacifiersIn January of 2012, I did a post called “Redundancy – Routers, Switches…and Pacifiers“. It was on the importance of having backups, be it your network hardware… or your child’s pacifiers.

I got a lot of great feedback on that post and even received a compliment from a stranger at Google on it. But nearly 15 months later, I do have to admit that maybe it was a misstep to have so many pacifiers around. My husband and I became more and more conscious that our son had developed quite an attachment to them.

Sagan - Binky Obsession
Redundant Pacifiers is One Thing…But Do You Really Need Four At One Time, Dude?

Roughly five weeks ago, we started an initiative where Sagan was only allowed to have his pacifier at “Night Night” and “Nap” time. Some days he isn’t especially pleased, but overall, it has been going smoothly and he accepts the new rules. (And now he finds cause to be happy when it is night night time).

When we were hiking at Falls Ridge a few weekends ago, something odd happened. We were hiking away when all of a sudden Sagan looked at me and said, “Night Night!”

I checked the time. He was being a trickster. He still had a good hour and a half until the earliest early side of his usual naptime. He just wanted a pacifier.

I told him it wasn’t his naptime and all of a sudden he started reaching for my belly and whining, “Mine! Mine! Mine!”

At the time, I assumed he was trying to reach for my pants pocket and my big ole pregnancy belly was merely in the way. It was baffling though, because he definitely looked like he was purposely trying to grab my belly. None the less, he rebounded and was in a happier mood in just a few minutes and had forgotten all about naptime and that he wanted a pacifier.

Flash forward 250 miles and six hours later. It suddenly dawned on me what Sagan might have been trying to grab. Sagan doesn’t call the pacifier “paci” like I do. He doesn’t call it “binky” like daycare describes it.

He calls it “baby“.

Do you know what I have been doing for weeks?

“Sagan,” I’d say and point to my bulging abdomen, “There’s a baby in my belly. There’s a baby, right here, in my belly.”

Ryan and I might have one disappointed first-born son come summer-time! : )

Entry filed under: Pacifier, Parenting. Tags: .

Sagan Compare: Falls Ridge Nature Preserve Surprise Family Hike with Surprise Finds – Ballywhack Creek

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. narami  |  May 20, 2013 at 9:50 am

    OMG they DO get everything. Note to self: Must. Be. Aware. Of. This. AtAllTimes.

    Reply
  • 2. Uncle Steve  |  May 21, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Very interesting. Steve, Jr.’s and Rosey’s first child, Anna, lived on a binky (pacifier, baby, etc). She us now three and they are still trying to get it off her when she goes to bed. They did not let their second child, Sophia, anywhere near a binky. Sophia gets along fine without a binky. I’m sure their third girl, due on September 3, 2013, will never see a binky either.

    It is funny what children can get use to and not use to. Good luck.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  May 21, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    Um… is it weird that when I read “the importance of having backups, be it your network hardware… or your child’s pacifiers” I thought “is she gonna write that her second child is her back-up???” So glad I was wrong on that one…🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


