TGFNSTTN – Thank Gawd For NOT Sleeping Through the Night

August 17, 2012 at 9:13 pm Leave a comment

When Ryan and I are out and conversation turns to the baby, one question will invariably get asked.  Young or old, male or female, family friend or complete stranger, whoever we are talking to will eventually ask:

Does he sleep through the night?

Typically our answer is he sleeps through the night, but we don’t.  Sagan still “dream feeds”.  Although our system is completely manageable (Team work, booyah!), sometimes there is a little bit of envy when we hear other parents reveal how long their babies sleep.

Today, my friends, the opposite should be true!

My father passed away July 27th, but last night I got to have the most pleasant reunion with him while I slept.  We were in a hospital lobby and everyone who attended my father’s funeral was there– all his siblings, his cousins, old co-workers, bridge players and even my boss Larry.  Even though my father was still skinny, he had all the vibrancy and animation of his healthier days.  He was surrounded by all his loved ones. He was telling his stories and laughing, laughing, laughing.

When Sagan started to stir in real life, he had impeccable timing.  He woke me up while my father’s laughter was still echoing in my head.  Waking at that moment guaranteed that it was a dream that would get remembered.

When morning arrived, sure I was more tired than I would have been if I slept all the way through the night.  But I’m very thankful I didn’t.  : )

Entry filed under: Dad, Parenting. Tags: .

Trivia for “Trees on Mars – Microbes and Football” Ba Gua in Central Park

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


