New Appreciation For…The Sparkles Girl (Sad Packer Fan)

January 20, 2012 at 1:44 pm 3 comments

Yesterday morning I enjoyed feeling smug and superior to a young lady featured in a YouTube video entitled, “Sad Packer Fan” (Hat Tip, @HokiePhotog).

In the video, the main character is distraught at Green Bay’s recent playoff loss.  She really, really, really wanted to see them win the Super Bowl and even went to the effort of painting her fingernails with green sparkles to secure a win.  Although she had the best intentions, that gesture backfired and undermined the very team she sought to help.

Oh I laughed at her silliness, forwarded along the link and laughed some more and then went about my daily business.  On the agenda besides work — our “Solid Food Initiative” with little Sagan.  On Monday, Sagan had been to the pediatrician and when we described how much milk he was eating overnight, the doctor recommended increasing his intake of baby food.  And truth be known, we were being a little lackadaisical with solids thus far.  In the past weeks, he’s tried a variety of vegetables and ingested his fair share of rice cereal, but it wasn’t an every day occurrence.

So yesterday, we decided to take the initiative seriously.  In addition to his usual breast milk intake, Sagan had two meals of rice cereal and then in the evening he had what we thought was a pretty hearty supper of green beans and breast milk.

Alas, last night he woke up numerous times and all in all ingested roughly 13 ounces of breast milk.  13 ounces!  That was twice as much as he was eating at night when we talked to the pediatrician AND about the same amount he ingests when he is at part-time daycare… you know, during the actual day.

His consumption was so much, I had to do an emergency unplanned pumping session in the middle of the night (I often have planned pumping sessions at night which is a different story).  On the outside, I may have looked stoic, quietly trying to find some kind of comfortable position to hold my head so I could rest my eyes.  But on the inside I was that Packer Fan!!!

Instead of blubbering on about sparkles, however, my thoughts were centered on another item of the same color.

“BUT… BUT… BUT… I FEED HIM GREEN BEANS.  I FEED HIM GREEN BEANS AND HE’S STILL HUNGRY.  I FED HIM GREEEEEEEEEEN *gasp* BEEEEAAAAAANS!!!! GREEEEEN BEEAAAAANS!”

I have no doubt our little family will eventually figure out this whole solid food thing.  In the meantime, though, maybe I shouldn’t laugh so hard at people on the Internet.

I am just one more sleepless night away from completing my transition into the Sparkles Girl! : )


SPARKLES!!!!  GREEN BEANS!!!!!

Entry filed under: Breast Pump, Breastfeeding, Parenting, Sagan, Weening. Tags: .

Redundancy – Routers, Switches…and Pacifiers 800,000 Views

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  January 20, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Well, I was going to say “LEAVE SPARKLE GIRL ALONE!” like that “Leave Britney alone” youtube guy. But….. then I watched the video and I can’t help but laugh. Poor sparkle girl.

    Green beans aren’t very filling, in my opinion.

    Reply
    • 2. tgaw  |  January 20, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      Hahaha, someone on YouTube made that comment!

      Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  January 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Hilarious! I agree that green beans aren’t very filling, but I’m not an infant. I would assume that any solid food content would at least hang out in his belly long enough to stave off the hunger. Again though, I know nothing of babies or nutrition either for that matter, so who am I to comment really. I can’t bring myself to watch the girl yet, but I should because I am miffed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


