The Samurai and Spit Up

January 2, 2012 at 4:04 pm 4 comments

Samurai 1890

Whenever we are caught in a rain storm, Ryan walks calmly. His precipitation velocity is equal to his non-precipitation velocity.

“The Samurai doesn’t run in the rain,” Ryan paraphrases Misuyuki’s Five Rings, “He accepts his drenching with dignity.”

I take a similiar approach with Sagan’s spit up. It happens and when it does, I may wipe up Sagan promptly, but I’m really in no hurry to rectify my own garments. I accept the return of my own milk with dignity.

When Sagan spits up on other people, however, the situation is radically different. I snag the nearest towel, bib, blanket, clean diapie, used napkin, crumbled up receipt or whatever else may be handy and hurry to dab up the mess.

Over the holidays, Sagan’s Uncle Jason held the prize of receiving the most spit up. Christmas Eve Eve, Sagan had a big meal followed by a vigorous playing session. Soon enough Sagan’s supper waterfalled out of his mouth right onto Uncle Jason’s lap.

“Oh! Oh!” I stammered as my eyes scanned the immediate area for a blanket. I spied one on the coffee table. I snagged it and rushed over to Jason to help. Now armed with the appropriate equipment, I leaned in.  Suddenly I froze.  I looked at my outstretched arm.  It was just a centimeter or two from its destination.  

“Uh…..Maybe [your girlfriend] should clean this one up.”

So here’s my revised spit-up cleanup policy:

Scenario Priority
Spit up on yourself Samurai Mode – Can Wait
Spit up on other people’s shoulders and arms Top Priority – Clean up ASAP
Spit up on other people’s crotches Delegate

Drawing above by Kamikasineo

Entry filed under: Parenting, Sagan, Spit Up. Tags: .

Favorite Tree of 2011, Punctuation Category Redundancy – Routers, Switches…and Pacifiers

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  January 2, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    Eeeeeeeeewwwww!

    Reply
  • 2. narami  |  January 2, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    I could smell the end of this one coming! xoD
    Side note: baby spit up is like, saintly. Everyone should use the Samurai Mode ;o)

    Reply
  • 3. heartofnature  |  January 2, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    You crack me UP!! Hilarious! Samurai is smart!

    Reply
  • 4. Kristina  |  January 2, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    What would the Samurai do if said spit up was in your mouth??? True story actually happened to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


