Geekhiker Sighting – Occoquan, Virginia

December 5, 2011 at 1:00 am 5 comments

To those of you who read my comment feed, the username Geekhiker might look familiar.  He first commented on this blog in May of 2007 (on “Cell Phone…As Versatile As Duct Tape?“) and over the last four years has managed to be the top commenter.  He drew the attention of other commenters.  Ryan was impressed by how consistently Geekhiker could churn out a humourous comment.  And, the very first time I saw my mother use the @username convention, was in a response to Geekhiker (on 200,000 Views). 

Mom's First @ Comment
My Mother’s First @Username Comment…Sigh, They Grow Up So Fast!

Well you may also have noticed a rapid decline in Geekhiker’s comments this summer.  The day Sagan was born, Geekhiker also experienced a life change.  This summer he embarked on an epic road trip! He’s been traveling around North America, visiting National Parks, hiking, camping and meeting some bloggers along the way.  A few weeks ago, he just happened to be passing through Virginia, so we put him up a few nights!  I had absolutely no idea what he looked like– I didn’t even know his real name! He, on the other hand, was a little more armed with knowledge. He instantly recognized Jimmie and Henry upon arrival! 

If this happened a few years ago, I most certainly would have opted to take him to the Appalachian Trail.  But time is tight nowadays and the mountains (or “hills” as Geekhiker likes to call them) are farther away than I would like.  So Geekhiker got to watch “diapie changes” instead.  :)  Luckily, he is a very laid back houseguest and happy to go with the flow. Along the way, he got to go to Dixie Bones, the Garden Kitchen, Ledo Pizza and…. Taco Bell.  He also got to watch me make broccoli salad for my birth class reunion.  It was riveting.

We did get an opportunity to hike together though!  It was a short hike– between 3-4 miles at the nearby Bull Run Occoquan Trail.  Henry and my Mom’s dog, Willy, were in attendance as was Ryan and little Sagan (his third post-birth hike). The section of trail we did may not have showcased Virginia as much as I would have liked, but we had great conversation and lots of fresh air.

Plus Ryan and I ended up with a great souvenir! I’m usually the one taking pictures, so there are very few shots of Sagan and I together, let alone shots of Ryan, Sagan and I together. Those of you who read Geekhiker’s blog will know that he is a talented photographer. So we ended the day with some top notch photos of our little family!

And for all you Geekhiker fans out there wondering what he looks like… I snagged a picture of my own! 

Sagan - November 21 - With American Chestnut Shirt
Geekhiker holds Sagan!

I think the thing that surprised me the most about Geekhiker in real life is his quick wit. I knew he had a smart humor from his comments and posts, but I somewhat expected he had to brainstorm and revise to get the final product. In other words, I thought he had to work for it. But as we shared meals in real life and he rattled off line after line, I realized– it all comes naturally to him!

As his journey winds down, I look forward to seeing how that quick wit of his describes all his adventures.

Entry filed under: Bull Run Occoquan Trail, Hiking. Tags: .

Thankful for Boobies and Blood Hungry Tree – Hemlock Overlook

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  December 5, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Wow, Geekhiker looks just like Sagan!😉

    Reply
    • 2. tgaw  |  January 2, 2012 at 12:18 am

      Hahahah. My co-worker messaged me about this post and alerted me ot the fact that you couldn’t make out GeekHiker in the picture. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. narami  |  December 5, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    My goodness, Sagan… you are growing up SOFAST!!
    I’m so glad to read you guys had a good time. Hiker sounds exactly like I imagined him from reading him🙂

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply
    • 4. tgaw  |  January 2, 2012 at 12:20 am

      Yes, he is quite fun to hang out with! Hopefully, you two will get to cross paths one day!

      Reply
  • 5. Kitty  |  December 11, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    That is so cool!!! I’ve definitely seen geekhiker in your comment feed on many occasions! That’s great that you got to share the parenting-hiking life of primarily “diapie changes” haha with him during his visit. And a little hike. It’s the thought that counts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


