Bull Run Occoquan Trail – Miles Four Through Six

July 26, 2011 at 8:10 pm 1 comment

The Last B.S. (Before Sagan) Hike

On Sunday July 10th, Ryan and I went out for another hike.  We decided to continue our progress on the Bull Run Occoquan Trail.  For National Walk in the Woods Day, we had started at Fountainhead Regional Park and did the first four miles of the trail.  This time we parked at the Bull Run Marina, hiked to where we left off last time and then returned back to the car.

Originally, a couple we know were going to join us on this hike.  The male was full of jokes about me being delivering on the trail.  “Should I bring water and towels?” he kept asking.  Ryan and I laughed at his silliness.

When Ryan and I finished the hike, I tweeted how “We only went 4.3 miles…but I think we get extra credit because it was so freaking hot out! :)”.  A friend replied that I should get also get extra credit because I was “super pregnant”.  I’m not super pregnant I thought.

Little did Ryan and I know, our son would be born just TWO days later.  I guess I was “super pregnant” afterall…and we were a lot closer to delivering on trail than either of us ever expected!

Miles 4 through 6 of the Bull Run Occoquan Trail is a beautiful section. The Potomac Appalachian Trail Club has done a great job maintaining the trail which was particularly lovely skating the waterline.  I would rank this section more scenic than the first four miles we did in May.  

Although at the time, I didn’t classify myself as “super pregnant”, I did notice pregnancy more this trip on the downhills.  So that day pregnancy is like hiking in Vibrams— the downhills are more unpleasant than the uphills.  : )

Bull Run Occoquan Trail - Bull Run Marina - Trail and Greenery
Part of the Potomac Appalachian Trail Club Maintained Trail

Bull Run Occoquan Trail - Bull Run Marina - Return View From Trail
View From Trail

Bull Run Occoquan Trail - Bull Run Marina - Ryan and Henry
Ryan and Henry on the Water

Bull Run Occoquan Trail - Bull Run Marina - Ryan and Carved American Beech
Ryan and Carved American Beech (No Poop Message On This Tree)

Bull Run Occoquan Trail - Bull Run Marina - Jimmie Still Likes to Wade
Fourteen Year Old Jimmie Still Likes to Wade

More pictures of our Bull Run Occoquan Trail Hike can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Bull Run Occoquan Trail, Hiking, Pregnancy. Tags: .

On Daddy’s Stares Sagan Bath Time

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


