Occoquan Baby Shower

July 6, 2011 at 1:00 am 5 comments

I’ve attended a number of baby showers in my day, but I have never had the priviledge to attend my own… until June 18th! My family threw Ryan and I a shower. And by family– I mean my whole immediate family. My sister, Carolyn, coordinated the invitations and parking communications. My mother prepared the venue. My brother managed all the food which was catered by his work. My father paid for said food (and forfeited the giant dining room table that doubles as his work area). And then there is my brother’s girlfriend, Jacklyn. Jacklyn did all the decorations, coordinated the games, put together prize bags and favor bags and then on top of it all— made some decadent and absolutely adorable cupcakes.

Occoquan Baby Shower - Upstair Decorations
Some of Jacklyn’s Decorations

Occoquan Baby Shower - Cupcakes by Jacklyn
Cupcakes by Jacklyn – They Were DELICIOUS!!!!

Jacklyn did such an amazing job that after the party was over, Mom, Carolyn and I had a terrifying realization. One day, we may be throwing a shower for Jacklyn. How will we ever match her party throwing prowess?!?! It’s impossible!

Attendees
This shower was a co-ed affair! My family was in attendence, including my 96 year old grandmother. Grandma got to have a reunion with her sister– my Great Aunt Carolyn came up from her home in Richmond. Ryan’s Mom came up from Virginia Beach, which means we had both future [first-time] grandmothers there!

Occoquan Baby Shower - Grandma and Aunt Carolyn
My Grandma and Her Sister

I got to see my godparents. Although we swap letters, I don’t think I had seen them in person since 2000. A number of friends local to Northern Virginia attended and then we had a surprise guest. Ryan’s brother, Darin, tagged along with his wife Emily. We knew Emily would be attending, but we had no idea that Darin was even on the East Coast!

Games
We played three games.

  • The B Word
    Each guest was given a clothespin and if he/she used the word “Baby”, their clothespin could be confiscated. We had two women in attendence who teach labor delivery nursing. I strategically stood by them and it was only a matter of time before I sported three clothespins. Alas, I managed to lose all three during the gift opening. Tip to future mommys playing this same game– don’t read the cards aloud. Two men ended up tying for win for this one– Vic and The Year of Living Unofficially‘s Chris.
  • How Big Is Mommy?
    We also played the game where guests take streamers and cut it to the size of the mother’s belly. Most everyone guessed too large, which was nice. But my 96 year old grandmother NAILED it. Her streamer was almost perfect. She won that game with ease and seemed to appreciate her prize.

    Occoquan Baby Shower - How Big is Mommy - Linda's Guess
    My Mother-In-Law Checks Her Streamer On My Belly

  • Pin the Sperm on the Egg
    This take off on pin the tail on the donkey was pretty fun. The Year of Living Unofficially‘s Britt and Chris tied for the win on this one. Luckily, they’re married, so they were able to share their prize. : )

    Occoquan Baby Shower - Pin the Sperm on the Egg - Carolyn's Attempt
    Carolyn’s Try

Gifts
Goodness, Ryan and I were struck by everyone’s generosity. Our guests hooked us up with a lot of the items we needed and my father’s cousin crocheted a blanket and a hat. They also seemed to recall Ryan’s love of science and my love of nature. Example science gift— a NASA onesie and bib. Example nature gift– baby hiking boots!

The most sentimental gifts came from Ryan’s Mom. She gave us the outfit little, tiny baby Ryan came home from the hospital in, his teething ring, a baby quilt made by his maternal grandmother and a baby afghan made by his mommy.

I was on this good Earth for 36 years before I had a baby shower, but boy– it certainly was a darn good one!

More pictures of our Occoquan Baby Shower are on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: .

American Chestnut – Identification by Catkins National Walk in the Woods Day and the Bull Run Occoquan Trail

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kitty  |  July 6, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Congratulations!! It sounds like you had a blast at your baby shower!! I’m glad they didn’t play the “Drinking from the Baby Bottle Race” game at yours–it ended up being quite tragic at mine. Let’s just say that chugging water from a baby bottle and then snarfing (laugh-choking) right after eating lunch while you have an 8 month baby belly pushing your stomach up into your throat already is not the greatest experience, and is bound to end up icky. I’ve never seen pin the sperm to the egg–what a great game!! Enjoy the rest of your pregnancy!! Sending love and happy baby wishes your way from Maine❤

    Reply
    • 2. tgaw  |  July 8, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      Oh goodness! Yeah, that would be an uncomfortable game to play! Thanks for the well wishes… and also thank you for being such a good role model way up there in Maine!

      We’ve been following in your footsteps with Bradley classes and the books and I’ve been keeping my activity level up. I even get to swim laps at the gym roughly once a week! 🙂

      Reply
      • 3. Kitty  |  July 8, 2011 at 12:58 pm

        Yesssss! That’s great!! Bradley is the best way to go if you want a 100% natural birth, I think–it totally worked for us! I’m so glad you decided to do it, too. Isn’t it great!? As for activity–that’s great, too! I swam 1-2 times a week right up until a few days before Maddie was born! I think I swam at least once after my due date🙂 You’re definitely doing more hiking that I did, but it looks like you’re still comfy and healthy and happy, and I’m so happy for you!

  • 4. Carolyn  |  July 8, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Yeah, it was a lot of fun. One of the other baby shower games that I’ve played in the past stuck in my mind… Poopy diapers. It was played at Clint’s cousin’s shower. There were several clean diapers filled with ziplock baggies of candy crumbs.. you were supposed to sample the candy crumb poop and try to determine what kind of candy it was… It was delicious and interesting, but somewhat daunting just thinking about eating out of a diaper… even though they were clean never-used diapers… hehehe

    I am very thankful for Jacklyn, because she really brought it all together!! Thanks, Jacklyn!

    Mom was thinking since we were inviting men, that we shouldn’t play any games, but it seemed to me, that the men were the most into the games. 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. tgaw  |  July 8, 2011 at 12:54 pm

      I never played that poopy diaper game, but I bet it would be fun! And you’re right. The men did seem to pounce on those games.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


