A Different Kind of Lent

March 23, 2011 at 1:00 am 2 comments

My family never observed Lent as I was growing up and I’m not sure why I started to observe it as an adult, but I certainly have grown to cherish this time of year. I love the challenge and discipline that comes with each year. Usually I give up something. In past years I have targetted Pepsi, desserts, red meat, cheese, text messaging while driving, credit card usage. One year I also gave up, “Reading my ex-husband’s blog.” : ) This year I’m taking a different approach. Instead of giving up something, I’m doing something. For Lent 2011, I’m spending 20 minutes each day breathing and stretching.

With our move, home renonvations and a crazy-hectic work schedule, I think that dedicated relaxation time will pay divendends. Plus I think it will be a particularly good habit to get into as I get inch closer to labor. : )

It’s only been 14 days and so far so good. Originally I had wanted to do 10 minutes of stretching and breathing a day. Ryan encouraged me to up it to 20 minutes, which sounded like a pretty large commitment at the time. However, I have found most days, once I start, I end up well beyond, often double, that 20 minutes! I did miss one day– a day where I did an hour on the spin cycle which I also find to be very effective in the stress-releasing department.

So we’ll see how the rest of Lent season goes. I do suspect, Easter Supper will be a little less anticipated without being able to indulge in whatever it was I was abstaining from. Desserts taste oh-so-good after a Lent.  : )

Entry filed under: Lent. Tags: .

Fenwick Hollowell Wetlands Trail 36th Birthday Hike 2011 – Billy Goat Trail

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. b. p.  |  March 23, 2011 at 1:15 am

    What a great idea–doing something instead of giving something up! Actually, it’s still the same thing…a sacrifice, even though ithis sacrifice will be “good” for you. I’ve never observed Lent myself, but you’ve inspired me to re-think that next year. 🙂

    Reply
  • […] – Relaxation Relaxation exercises we started back in February with Lent, again well before we started class. When we did start classes, I could tell immediately that Ryan […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


