Happy Café au Lait Day!

February 17, 2011 at 11:47 am Leave a comment

Thanks to The Year of Living Unofficially, I was made aware that February 17 is National Café au Lait Day. So this morning, Ryan and I whipped out our French Press for the first time this pregancy (to make decaffeinated coffee, of course!). We cheated a bit and used half and half instead of steamed milk, but our hearts were in the right place.

We have beautiful spring weather today, so as water boiled and dishes were done, we had the screen doors open letting in fresh air and the sounds of happy birds (who were apparently unaware of the three cats in their vicinity).

Even without coffee, I start each morning with a Longaberger coffee mug my paternal Grandmother gave me some time ago for Christmas and thus I start each morning with thoughts of her. Today was no different. Whenever I use the French Press, I think of my Aunt and Uncle in Maryland who always rave about their French Press….and I think of my younger brother who is to blame for their passion. He gave them their first French Press as a Christmas present! When I fetched our Half and Half from the fridge, I was greeted with a picture of my maternal grandmother, now 11 years deceased, with one of my cousins on her lap.

National Cafe Au Lait Day
Longaberger Coffee Mug, Half & Half, French Press

On the surface, Cafe au Lait Day sure sounded like such a simple holiday. And our celebration itself was brief– our beverages were consumed in no more than 30 minutes. But it was the simple, brief pleasures that made my morning– fresh air, thoughts of family and delicious, rich coffee*.

*Yeah, in the last three months, I had forgotten how very very very delicious French Press coffee is! 🙂

Entry filed under: Family, YearOfLivingUnofficially. Tags: .

Valentine’s Flowers… Sort Of How to Scare an Expectant Father – Week 13

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


