News x 3

February 11, 2011 at 11:08 am 6 comments

Happy Friday everyone! Families have been informed, co-workers are up to speed, neighborhood kids are in the know. Now is time to update my blog with all the latest news from our household.

1. Ryan’s Job Change
Ryan’s changing jobs. The timing actually worked out super great for me and my colleagues. We’re in the middle of a big migration project and Ryan’s been able to assist us out with some contracting work. Right now he’s integrating our application with Mettler Toledo balances. Ryan’s been a tremendous help! I’m still hoping I can convince him to stay with us permanently!

Lab Visit - ZJ and Ryan in Hair Nets
The Obligatory Hairnet Shot

Elizabeth City - Ryan Working on Balances
Ryan Working on Balance Integration

2. We’re Moving
Related to #1, we’re moving circa February 26th to my hometown of Occoquan, Virginia. I have very much enjoyed Hunter Street and I am sad to leave. Surprisingly, I have yet to find a neighborhood kid who seems as sad as I am! They’re resilient! Nonetheless, I do look forward to being closer to my family… and closer to the mountains. In November, Ryan and I spent a week gutting my maternal grandmother’s house. We’ll be working on reinnovating it once we are back in Occoquan (don’t worry some of that work will be overseeing contractors doing to actual work. ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

Grandma's House - Overgrown Exterior on 9_19_2010
Home Sweet Home….Eventually*
*It doesn’t look like this right now, Ryan already cleared away all the brush

Grandma's House - Living Room on 9_19_2010
Living Room on 9/19/2010

Grandma's House - Living Room on 11_1_2010
Living Room on 11/1/2010

Grandma's House - Living Room on 11_2_2010
Living Room on 11/2/2010

Until reinnovations are done, we’ll be staying on the top floor of my parents’ house. It should be a great exercise in patience and stress management. With our combined pets, we’ll have a total of four dogs and three cats on one property. We’ll see how that goes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last But Not Least….
Shortly after we were married, I received a Facebook inquiry from Tyrek.

Inquiry From Tyrek
Vicky When Is You Going to Have a Baby!

It took a while, but I finally have an answer for him.

August!

Ryan and I are expecting our first child in mid-August!!! We’ll be at 14 weeks tomorrow, which means I somehow survived the terrifying first trimester without the terrifying part. I skated by with minimal trouble from morning sickness. I really, really, really lucked out. A big shout out to whatever force it was that decided to spare me. I owe you one!

8 Week 4 Day Ultrasound - Marked Up
Ultra Sound at 8 Weeks, 4 Days

And so we have a lot of big changes coming. They’ll be a lot of stress, I’m sure. But there is going to be a lot of great things as well! : )

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City, food safety, home improvement, Occoquan, Pregnancy. Tags: .

Hunter Street Happenings – Week of January 16, 2011 Valentine’s Flowers… Sort Of

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  February 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    When I was reading this through my RSS reader, I was like, “Why does Jimmie look so small? Oh, that’s Willy”.

    renovating

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  February 11, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Can’t wait for you guys to be back in the area๐Ÿ™‚ And to see Grandma Lib’s house when it’s all done!

    Reply
  • 3. narami  |  February 12, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Congrats to the whole family Vicky! Gosh, I love happy news๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. varunner  |  February 14, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Hi! I found you through the SW VA bloggers group on facebook. I grew up in Prince William county myself – I always loved Occoquan. I like this part of VA too though.
    Congrats on the pregnancy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  February 14, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Whoa, now THAT’S an update! LOL

    1 – Congrats to Ryan on the work, hope he gets picked up full time!

    2 – House remodeling, huh? I hope everything goes well on that front. I’ve lived in a lot of older places over the years, and I know they can be, shall we say, temperamental!

    3 – Congratulations! And the fact that you’ll be raising the kid closer to the mountains? The GeekHiker approves. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. Kitty  |  February 15, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Congratulations!!! What an amazing, amazing journey you are beginning!! You are going to love motherhood (not to mention, rock at it!). The world becomes an even more amazing place when you have a little fury of wonder to share it with! It sounds like you are making lots of changes–good luck with them, and all the best! I’m SO excited for you and Ryan!!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


