Blog Recommendation: The Year of Living Unofficially

January 12, 2011 at 1:00 am 3 comments

  • Ryan and I have friends, Brittany and Chris, who are going to celebrate a holiday every day in 2011.  They’ve researched and found quirky, off-the-beaten-path holidays, stuff like “National Drinking Straw Day” and “National Bubble Bath Day”.  Their blog, “The Year of Living Unofficially“, shows the upcoming holidays and each evening they recap the day’s celebration.  Although we are only 12 days into 2011, I’m pretty confident they are going to stick to it.  Last week the wife contracted the stomach flu, but they still managed to observe “National Bird Day”!

Ryan and I have been enjoying the blog.  When an “unofficial” holiday catches our eye, we’ve been celebrating it too.  Well, sort of.  Our “observances” so far:

  • January 2 – National Science Fiction Day
    We watched the recently restored version of Fritz Lang’s 1927 silent film masterpiece “Metropolis“.
  • January 3 – National Drinking Straw Day
    I made it a point to wish my boss a “Happy Drinking Straw Day”.  He despises what he calls “Sissy Sticks” and his reaction brought me much joy. : )
  • January 5 – National Bird Day
    I took a few moments to sit outside and enjoy the birds in our yard.  I also reflected on all the opreys Ryan and I saw kayaking this year.
  • January 6 – National Cudde Up Day
    YES!  Fleece pants, toe socks, a warm comforter (the dragon blanket) and Star Trek Voyager episodes on DVD made this unofficial especially relaxing.
  • January 7 – National Tempura Day
    Ryan was manning Earth 383 for Friday Night Magic.  I picked up Toyama’s and we feasted on tempura while watching the shop!
  • January 8 – National Bubble Bath Day
    I did a very thorough cleaning of our bath tub… to empower future bubble baths!  : )
  • January 10 – National Clean Off Your Desk Day
    I had cleaned my desk the week before, but Ryan went ahead cleaned off his that day.  Since a lot of the items on his desk turned out to be my stuff, I believe I’m going to have to clean off my desk again soon.  : )

Note: The holiday name is linked to Brittany and Chris’s celebration, which is more elaborate than ours! 🙂

Anyway, we’ve been having fun reading about all Brittany and Chris’s adventures and discovering holidays we never knew existed.  I definitely recommend the site!  You can also follow them on Twitter and Facebook!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized, YearOfLivingUnofficially. Tags: .

Henry’s Valley Forge Hunter Street Happenings – Week of January 16, 2011

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kitty  |  January 12, 2011 at 10:59 am

    This sounds like so much fun! I know that there are at least one or two international chocolate days… so I will be sure to celebrate those! I definitely will have to follow Brittany and Chris’ blog and join in on a few of these celebrations! What a fun idea!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Brittany  |  January 15, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    Thanks Vicky! We’re so glad you guys have been having fun! I’ve never really blogged before so this is a big undertaking for me, but Chris and I have been having a good time with it. Next time you guys are up in our area maybe we can all celebrate an “unofficial” together!

    Reply
  • 3. Yuri’s Night and National Sibling Day « TGAW  |  May 16, 2011 at 1:04 am

    […] Sibling Day I wrote earlier about my friends celebrating a holiday every day in 2011 on their blog The Year of Living […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


