Hopefully She Knew I *Meant* Well : )

November 9, 2010 at 10:04 am 4 comments

I was exceedingly lucky to born into circumstances that gave me not one, but two very admirable, loving women as grandmothers. When I was growing up I was particularly close to my maternal grandmother, Grandma Turnock. She lived right across the street. She cooked us dinner on the weeknights. During middle school she used to pick up my sister and I at the bus stop each afternoon and take us to the Garden Kitchen for milk and cookies.

Last week, Ryan, my brother Jay and I had the arduous task of cleaning the attic of my childhood home. There were 30 years of accumulated possessions up there. At times it was a demoralizing job. You would go through boxes and boxes and boxes of stuff only to look up and see you were still surrounded with more work. But then there were gems. I found love letters from my parents (!!!!), letters my paternal grandparents wrote to my father when he was in college and I found this– An essay I wrote in Elementary School about my Grandma Turnock (who passed away February 2000).

I started reading and it was so sweet.

Elementary School - Lib Turnock is my Grandma Page 1
Essay on Grandma – Page 1

Lib Turnock
is
My Grandma!

I love my Grandma very much. She loves me very much too. She babysits us whenever my Mom and Dad go out. Sometimes we sleep at my house, and sometimes at Grandma’s.

My Grandma’s first name is Elizabeth, her nick name is Lib, and her last name is Turnock, but we call her Grandma.

Her favorite animal is a beagle dog. Her favorite color is blue. Her hobby is going out for lunch. We like Grandma’s favorite things.

I turned the page and was greeted by another sweet line:

I drew a picture of my Grandma, She is pretty.

But then I caught a glimpse of said picture!

Elementary School - Lib Turnock is my Grandma - Close Up of Picture
My Grandma By Elementary School Vicky

And I know for a fact she saw that picture! How? Right below it I have a sentence about her signature and then Grandma signed the essay.

Elementary School - Lib Turnock is my Grandma Page 2
Page 2

Grandma is nice to us. All those reasons add up to be 100%, I think she is the best Grandma in the world.

Grandma’s signature

[Mrs. James H. Turnock, Jr.]

Sometimes our talents have absolutely no hope of doing justice to the love we feel. : )

Entry filed under: Grandma Turnock. Tags: .

Cape Cod – Day 4 – Vicky’s Old Lady Face Fall Colors: UW Arboretum

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  November 9, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Hahahahah, I’m sure I have things that are just as embarrassing, probably even more embarrassing!

    I had asked Mom about the stuff in the attic a long time ago, and she told me that Dad had gone up there and threw everything away and that it was empty. I’m glad that it wasn’t thrown away and that you guys got to go through it. I am sorry I was unable to help.

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  November 9, 2010 at 11:55 am

    She will be missed! More than at least 1 of my own grandparents.

    Reply
  • 3. gasstationdave  |  November 10, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I love this post

    Reply
  • 4. geekhiker  |  November 10, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Aw, man, you just made me miss my grandmother all over again. In a good way. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


