Adventure Day with the Neighborhood Kids — Chowan County Fair

October 9, 2010 at 10:00 pm 6 comments

Ever since the first cartoon pig banner showed up in Elizabeth City, the neighborhood kids have been talking about the Chowan County Fair. It would be difficult to resist such enthusiasm. For the second year in a row, Ryan and I agreed to drive. On Friday October 1, with part of our yard still underwater, we left Elizabeth City behind and headed to Edenton, North Carolina for an evening of fun!

Rides
It’s safe to say that Ryan and the kids are more enthusiastic about the rides than I. I am a fan of “The Drop” (perk: it is over almost immediately), but this year I opted to steer clear of the rides that have a significant amount of spinning, particularly that nasty Fireball I ventured on last year. On the upside, this gave me more quality time with my camera!

Chowan County Fair - Khalif and Jacal on Freak Out
Khalif and Jacal on a Ride I Didn’t Ride

Chowan County Fair - Ryan and Terrance on Code
Ryan and Terrance on a Ride I Didn’t Ride

Chowan County Fair - Ferris Wheel
Ferris Wheel! I’ll Ride That!

Chowan County Fair - Games From Ferris Wheel
Vendors and Games From the Ferris Wheel

Chowan County Fair - Drop Zone Approach From Ferris Wheel
“The Drop” – I Actually Rather Like This One

Chowan County Fair - Terrance
Terrance

Chowan County Fair - DJ, Tavon, Armani, Terrance
Some of the Boys

Chowan County Fair - Deja and Khaliya
The Girls

Petting Zoo
On Friday nights, I tend to use up the quarters I have on hand at the Hot Tamale machine at Earth 383 Comic and Games. This particular Friday night, we were far from the Hot Tamale machine, but I did find a use for the week’s quarter stockpile. The petting zoo had little dispensers of food! We purposely fed some ducks and the longhorn bull. I not so purposely fed a goat.

Chowan County Fair - Petting Zoo - Kids with Longhorn
Khaliya Feeds the Longhorn Bull

Chowan County Fair - Petting Zoo - Goat Eats Vicky's Bookbag (By Ryan Somma)
This Goat Thought My Bookbag was Yummy

Exhibitions
Last year, Ryan and I were surprised by the exhibitions, particularly the diversity in poultry (more on them in a different post). This year we both brought our cameras specifically to take pictures of some of the entries. The Chowan County Fair has over $12,000 in cash prizes for handiwork. The amount of categories is amazing. In all age groups you can enter crafts, cooking, fruits, vegetables, dried food, you name it. They even had a category for chestnuts!

Chowan County Fair - Chestnuts
Award Winning Chestnuts

Chowan County Fair - Gourds
Award-Winning Gourds

Some of the items I thought would be tricky to judge. I took the following picture of the blueberries because to my untrained eyes they didn’t seem any different. I wondered how one plate of blueberries were conclusively deemed better than the other. But when I showed the pictures at home, the answer was obvious to Tyrek. “The one of the left,” he said with authority, “They are bluer.”

Chowan County Fair - Blueberries
Award-Winning Blueberries

I love that there are so many categories and so many opportunities to be recognized. It rewards local talent… and promotes growing your own food as well. I’m somewhat tempted to try to enter something next year. : )

Hiking Knowledge in Action
A hike leader from the Potomac Appalachian Trail Club once told me about a hard lesson he learned on one of his group hikes. In the middle of the hot, humid summer season, he led a lengthy day hike with a formidable ascent. He didn’t realize it until they were well within the hike– one of the hikers in the group didn’t bring ANY water with him at all. After that, the hike leader told me, he always checked everyone’s supplies before they left the trailhead. I exercised a similiar practice for the fair. The fair is one of few adventure days Ryan and I don’t fully fund, so I made sure all the kids had enough money for the entrance fee before we left Elizabeth City. I may live far from the mountains, but I still find a way to apply the knowledge I’ve learned from the hiking community! : )

For the second year in a row, we all had a fabulous time at the Chowan County Fair. I have already heard murmurs about our trip next year. Only 348 more days to go!

More pictures of the Chowan County Fair can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Chowan County Fair, Elizabeth City, Hiking, Neighborhood Kids. Tags: .

Bark for Life 2010 Kayaking: Charles Creek to Albemarle Hospital

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rocket Man  |  October 10, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    One of the first things we discovered about our new home in the Blue Ridges was the county fair, one of the things we didn’t have back home in Virginia Beach. We love the fair and it’s already marked on my Windows Calendar for next year!

    Some of our friends think I’m going overboard, keeping a pack loaded with emergency supplies in the back of each SUV but we DO live in the mountains where a simple auto accident could very easily become a survival situation. I was a Boy Scout and a USAF Pararescueman. Being prepared is second nature to me.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  October 12, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    @Rocket Man – Yeah, County Fairs have a lot to offer! And there certainly is nothing wrong with being prepared!šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • […] and I were dumbfounded with how many different types of ducks and chickens there were on display. This year, we brought both cameras specifically to document all the birds. Ryan will upload a complete set of […]

    Reply
  • 4. Pigs at the county fair | Home Improvement Source  |  December 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    […] for her nad unfortunately for me whoever told my wife that there would be pigs there at the county fair ended up being right. There were there in all their smelly and muddy glory. Boy was she excited […]

    Reply
  • 5. Jordan  |  September 27, 2012 at 9:06 am

    i going today i cant wait.

    Reply
  • 6. Industry  |  July 3, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
    frequently!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


