Cape Cod – Day 2

August 24, 2010 at 5:00 am 2 comments

Ryan and I started off our first full day of vacation…. with a nine mile run. We are both training for a half marathon in September. We ran along the beautiful Cape Cod Trail which is about 1.2 miles away from our hotel. Believe it or not, it is hilly compared to the terrain we are used to at home. But we found the low humidity and temperature to be very conducive to the longer runs.

In May, Ryan and I started doing the Presidential Physical Fitness Challenge where anytime we do an activity, we log it to get points. I highly recommend it.  I’ve found that little website to be absolutely the best motivator. Why? It’s the point system. I want to keep up with Ryan on the points. And that’s hard! There are weekday mornings where I wake up and I see Ryan putting on his running clothes. “$(*&%!” I think. Then I get up and put on my Vibrams. I quickly learned I can’t safely postpone my exercise to the evening. If he runs in the morning, I have to run in the morning.  Otherwise, he may come home after work and want to play tennis. Then I only get points for tennis, but he gets points for tennis AND running. Grrr.

That morning at Cape Cod, Ryan and I looked at a map and decided to run three miles down the Cape Cod Rail Trail and turn around. Ryan runs faster than I. On the round trip runs, he’ll eventually pass me. After I ran by the 2.5 mile marker with no sign of Ryan, I silently celebrated my pace in my head, “Yay! I’m less than a mile behind him!” When I passed the 2.75 mile marker…. I started to realize, “Oh no…He kept going.” Sure enough, I get to the 3 mile marker and the 3.25 mile marker and still no Ryan. When I did pass him, I asked him which marker he went to.

“Four,” he said.

“I was afraid of that,” I panted.

Ryan suggested I turn around at the 3.5 mile marker. But it was futile. The decision was already made. I was going to the freaking four mile marker. I needed those points. And you know what— I am glad I did. The extra two miles flew by. I had a very pleasant run. Beautiful scenery, tons of oak trees, I even saw a large hawk pass over me. When we finished, I had completed my longest run to date. That’s quite a high!

The aftermath of the run wasn’t as pleasant. By the time we got back to the hotel, we were starving (we didn’t eat breakfast before going out). We decided to shower before eating which gave the hunger time to compound. The prices at the resort deterred us and we decided to walk into town for more reasonably priced grub. That journey was miserable. We walked in light headed and sore silence.

“This walk is worse than the run,” I finally said. Ryan agreed.

At one point, Ryan pointed to some stairs and said, “Let’s take a break.”

“Really? COOL!” my voice suddenly had spunk. 

But it turns out Ryan was only kidding. By the time I realized that, my enthusiasm had already outed me as the wuss of our twosome. D’oh. : )

We made it downtown and ate at a great place called The Captain’s Table. I had a salad and a delicious lobster bisque– the kind where you can taste the real cream in the ingredient list!  I love that!  We hit up a used bookstore, stocked up on books and then returned back to the resort.

The rest of the day was low key and extremely relaxing. I sat out front and caught up on journal entries. We read our books. I worked on crosswords and we just enjoyed the down time.

For dinner, the entire family met for a Sunday night buffet at the Chatham Bars Inn. HOLY CRAP. That was the most decadent, decadent buffet. I have never seen anything like it. Ahi Tuna, Lobster, Scallops, Giant Crab Legs. They even had a whole selection of caviar, including wasabi infused tobiko! We were all just stunned as we walked past the buffet to our table. Some of us were less stunned than others. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw my father poking and prodding one of the humongous lobsters on the buffet to see if it was real.

Greetings Rich People! The Sawyers Have Arrived!

Entry filed under: Cape Cod, Chatham, Massachusetts, Travel. Tags: .

Wedding – Caterer Henry Wants Bark for Life Donations

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  August 24, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Oh, geez, you’re one of those people now? A morning runner? Say it ain’t so! LOL

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  August 24, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    @geekhiker – It’s funny you mentioned that. I’ve decided after this morning’s run I’m going to do an evening run this week to remind myself that I actually like running. 🙂

    Morning runs don’t come naturally to me. I’ve have to really really really work at it. My preference is dusk. Dusk runs are so great. So invigorating.

    Unfortunately that half marathon is at dawn, not dusk. So I figured I best get used to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


