Wedding – Pi Favors

August 22, 2010 at 5:00 am 7 comments

Shortly after the wedding, Ryan and I had a number of kids over to walk them through reinstalling their laptops. It was a lengthy process, so we put movies on in the background to provide some entertainment while the various progress bars ticked by. One of the movies we watched was “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”. From the lack of laughter, it was safe to say the movie only appealed to me and me only. There was an exception. Near the end of the film, you can see the family arguing in the kitchen.

“Hey!” I pointed at the screen, “LOOK!”

While the characters were arguing, they were also hard at work…. wrapping wedding favors in tulle.

And that I think was the only part of the movie we ALL got a kick out of. Wrapping things in tulle was a process we were intimately familiar with. In the two weeks before the wedding, Ryan, the neighborhood kids and I made 130 chocolate Pis using ThinkGeek Ice Cube Trays. We then placed 130 chocolates on 130 little squares of purple cardstock, wrapped them in tulle and tied them with a purple ribbon.

Wedding Behind the Scenes - Ryan Struggles to Tie
Grrr… We Know What It’s Like to Wrap Things in Tulle!

We selected Chocolate Pis as wedding favors because, well, Pi is pretty geeky.  It works with science and nature.  Plus Pi made a cameo in our ceremony.

A perfect circle contains an element of infinite complexity. Like circles, your rings have no beginning and no end and in the sacred tradition of marriage, rings have come to symbolize eternal love and the endless union of body, of mind, and spirit.  The circle, like marriage, was created to be forever, and endless. Just like the number “PI”  a number that goes on without end.  To quote Lisa Hoffman, “Marriage is like PI – natural, irrational, and VERY IMPORTANT.”

Interestingly enough, the Pi Chocolates had a lot of male contributers. Khalif and Tyrek helped squirt chocolate in the molds. Tyrek cut up purple ribbons. Khalif, Armani and Ryan all helped wrap.

Here’s another surprise. While Khalif, Ryan and I all struggled at tying the ribbons, Armani, who had seemed to be pretty indifferent about the wedding, waltzes in and puts us all to shame. He was by far the most effective wrapper! His innovation– twisting the tulle before tying.

Wedding Behind the Scenes - Chocolate Pis
Growing Inventory of Wrapped Pis


Chocolate Pi at Wedding (Photo by Brian Nenninger)

Opportunity for Improvement
Our little Pis were cute and fitting, but there was an opportunity for improvement. When shopping for chocolate, I noted that almost all the selections included partially hydrogenated oils. That did not please me. So we used some Baker’s “Dipping Chocolate” instead.   It didn’t contain partially hydrogenated oils, but it melted a lot easier than the other chocolates.

This melting issue turned out to be a source of stress for me. The day before the wedding, Ryan and I loaded up two vehicles full of wedding stuff and headed up to Chesapeake Circuit Court to get our marriage license. It was a pretty warm day and as we headed into the Circuit Court, I was conscious that our vehicles would warm up. I was concerned. LUCKILY, that ginormous white wedding dress with its incredible amount of layers—- it made for perfect insulation! The chocolates not only survived that stop, but they also survived a late lunch as well.

My cousin Sam and my brother’s girlfriend Jacklyn were both helping with the wedding setup. I warned them about the easy melting. They knew to hold the little tulle contraptions by the top as they set the tables. And I do remembering mentioning to more than one person at the reception, “When you decide to eat your chocolate Pi, eat it fast!”

Alas, there was still a mishap. My friend, Tony, decided to put his chocolate Pi in his pocket to save for later.

Yeah, that didn’t quite work out as planned. He ended up with a pocket full of melted chocolate.🙂

So the improvement I would recommend is to select a chocolate that wouldn’t melt when exposed to body heat as easily. 

Entry filed under: Food, Pi, rvw10, Wedding. Tags: .

Wedding – Lowell’s Lecture and the Father Daughter Dance Wedding – Caterer

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  August 22, 2010 at 11:13 am

    I’m still sad that I forgot to get mine. I had even procured an extra purple one, and had it at my seat with my green one… but at the end, when we were leaving, Jacky brought me my purse from the table, and I left without going back to it…. so the pi chocolates got left behind.

    I’m also sad I missed out on wedding cake. I was having too much fun to remember to eat a piece!

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:32 am

    @Carolyn – That reminds me. I promised Clint the extra Pi Ice Cube Tray. Once I get that to you, you’ll be empowered to make Pi chocolates anytime your heart desires.

    Reply
    • 3. Clint  |  August 24, 2010 at 4:15 pm

      I think we’re too lazy for that. I still want my pi chocolate. so badly.

      Reply
  • 4. geekhiker  |  August 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    I wonder if there’s such a thing as a pi-shaped-pie pan. Because an apple-pi-pie this fall would be pretty awesome…

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  August 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    @geekhiker– Do a Flickr search for “Pi Pie”. There are lot of ’em!

    Reply
  • 6. Sour Swinger  |  August 24, 2010 at 9:58 am

    My Big Fat Greek Wedding was a good movie. The lack of laughters is probably because it falls too far out of touch with the kids and their environment. (Safest way to say it without bringing in race, of course this comment kinda nullifies that effort).

    I thought your wedding was so inspiring! I may hire you and Ryan as consultants whenever I walk this path.

    Reply
    • 7. Clint  |  August 24, 2010 at 4:14 pm

      Yea, it’s a pretty good movie, I thought it hilarious. Also, substitute Jewish for Greek, and Seders for Weddings, and you get My Big Fat Jewish Seder, which was re-titled to “When Do We Eat?”, which is even more hilarious. ‘Cause the delinquent son ends up dosing the dad with LSD during the movie…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


