Buffalo Mountain Natural Area Preserve…via Facebook!

June 11, 2010 at 1:46 pm Leave a comment

After the first annual Qualtrax’s User Conference in 2005, I went hiking with a couple of the Qualtrax customers. We went up to Mountain Lake on Salt Pond Mountain which we found snow covered in October!

This year I had hoped to attend the conference and do more hiking with all the friends I had met when I worked at Qualtrax. Unfortunately, the timing didn’t work out. It was the same week as our local Relay for Life which and I had a number of obligations to attend to.

Luckily, one of the Qualtrax customers, Robyn Ruth, had me covered. Not only did she upload pictures of the hike to Facebook… she uploaded a video of the summit made especially for me. How do I know this? The video opens with “So…Vicky, I’m making this for you.” 🙂


Video of Buffalo Mountain Summit (courtesy of Robyn Ruth)

She and two of the Qualtrax employees hiked Floyd County, Virginia’s Buffalo Mountain. They kept their eyes open for the giant mealybug species (Puto kosztarabi) that is indigenous only to Buffalo Mountain. They didn’t have any spottings of that but thanks to the rainy weather, they saw plenty of red efts!

Buffalo Mountain - Red Eft (By Robyn Ruth)
Red Eft (Photo Courtesy of Robyn Ruth)

As far as I know, this is the first video uploaded to YouTube with me specifically in mind (Jeremy Turner did upload a rendition of Round Here, but he said it was for his “old, old friends“).

It pleases me that like five years ago, a hike accompanied the Qualtrax User’s Conference.  And it pleases me even more to know that when they got to the top, Robyn Ruth thought to include me on the adventure.🙂

Entry filed under: Hiking, newt, Virginia. Tags: .

Heart in Nature – Via Facebook! Bear Bags and Construction Crews

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


