Poison Ivy Has SEX?!?!

April 30, 2010 at 4:11 pm 4 comments

You know, when I think of notorious men in history, I don’t think about them having sex. Even though Hitler palled around with hottie Eva Braun, I don’t think of him getting it on. Saddam Hussein actually had children, proof positive of conception, and still I don’t picture him in the throes of passion.

In my mind, I guess I assume that evil entities would devote all their energy to their cause. They would be so focused on spreading discomfort and pain, they wouldn’t have any time to focus on anything else.

And such is the case of Poison Ivy (Toxicodendron radicans). It certainly makes sense that it has to propagate somehow. It certainly makes sense that it would do so through sexual reproduction.

Still, two weeks ago when I stumbled upon a batch of poison ivy sporting green and yellow flowers, I stopped dead in my tracks and was dumbfounded, “Wait a second…Poison Ivy actually has sex?!?!?!!”

You learn something new every day!

Things I Don't Picture Having Sex
Things I Don’t Picture Having Sex – Hitler and Poison Ivy

Entry filed under: Poison Ivy, sex. Tags: .

Wedding – Venue Adventure Day with the Neighborhood Kids – Canoeing!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joy K.  |  May 1, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    And as a sort of post-coital activity, they produce little greenish-white berries that many birds LOVE, which causes little itchy seedlings to spread far and wide.

    I wish we could equip them with tiny little plant condoms.

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    “Plant condoms” – ha ha ha ha ha ha!

    Reply
  • 3. Bill  |  May 8, 2010 at 6:42 am

    Comparing Adolf Hitler to Poison Ivy? I laughed and laughed when I read this! There is something so funny about this!

    Bill:www.wildramblings.com

    Reply
  • 4. 6 Year Blogaversary « TGAW  |  March 14, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    […] Poison Ivy Has SEX?!?! This was a quick post to write, but I will always remember this one fondly because I saw strangers tweet it. : ) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


