Surprise from a School Bus

April 16, 2010 at 8:39 am 7 comments

Yesterday I got stuck in traffic behind a school bus. The back seats, historically the prized position of the most cutthroat of popular kids, were occupied by adolescent boys. As our vehicles inched forward, missing multiple stop light cycles, I could see the boys laughing with each other and looking my way. Meanwhile, I listened to music and thought about who I would call if my cell phone still had a charge. There was a bit of a commotion and suddenly a piece of notebook paper with a message scrawled on it was slapped against the back window.

Now, it’s been about two decades since I’ve been a student on a school bus, but I still haven’t forgotten the type of antics typical of this age group. Most certainly this sign would tell me that I sucked or would share some kind of negative insight about my mother.

“Pretend you don’t see it,” I thought and fiddled with the radio, “Don’t look it. Don’t look at it.”

But I did. And the sign didn’t berate me! Instead it simply said:

You[‘re] Pretty

And just like that, the corners of my lips curled upwards.

I smiled in a traffic jam.

Entry filed under: Journal Excerpt, traffic. Tags: .

35th Birthday Hike – Lassiter Trail Wedding – “Florals”

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gasstationdave  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Kids are getting smarter these days

    Reply
  • 2. Matt  |  April 16, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Ha! That is awesome. Incorrect grammar and all, they’re right, you know.😛

    Reply
  • 3. Linda  |  April 16, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    I love it!!! You are such a good writer.

    Reply
  • 4. Anne  |  April 17, 2010 at 3:18 am

    You must still be glowing.

    Reply
  • 5. Sheer  |  April 17, 2010 at 4:18 am

    I’m pretty amazed by the number of kids I see at skating rinks wearing peace & love clothing, and/or treating each other kindly and with respect. I don’t know what’s going down with the new generation, but I like it.

    Reply
  • 6. geekhiker  |  April 19, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Awesome!

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  April 21, 2010 at 9:27 am

    @Sheer— Your observation reminds of the NOFX Song “What’s the Matter With Kids Today”
    -=-=-=-=-

    There’s something wrong
    with the kids in my neighborhood
    They always listen to their moms
    They disregard civil disobedience
    They’d rather do what they’re told
    They don’t drink or fuck or fight
    They sit home, and read, expand their minds

    There’s something wrong with
    the kids in my cul de sac
    They’re always going to church
    They dress well and they’re
    Speaking articulate
    They show each other respect
    They’re never late, don’t smoke or break rules
    They eat right, study hard
    And like school
    There’s something wrong
    with the kids in my neighborhood

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


