Vicky in American Forests Magazine

February 1, 2010 at 10:45 pm 5 comments

352 of Ryan Somma‘s Creative Commons Science and Nature Images appear in Wikipedia articles. (228 credited as Ryan Somma, 124 as ideonexus). One could argue by sharing his photos, Ryan is helping to educate and inspire.

Well, *I*, Vicky Sawyer, now have a claim in the realm of education and knowledge as well! I have zero pictures in Wikipedia… but I *do* have a photo in the Winter 2010 Issue of American Forests magazine! My photo appears in an article on the “Continuing Saga of the American Chestnut”:

Picture in American Forests Magazine
Vicky’s Picture in American Forests!!!

It’s a wonderful and informative article that definitely does not need my picture to be interesting. Be sure to check out the full version online!

Entry filed under: American Chestnut, trees. Tags: .

Survivor Tree Unseen *More* Groundhogs in Trees

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robin  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Vicky,
    Very cool! Must be a great feeling to be published.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Thanks Robin! “Published” is indeed a nice word, but right now I’m more enamored with the phrase, “contributing to the world of forestry”. At least that’s what I’ve been using when I tell relatives the news. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  February 2, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Congratulations!

    So, uh, now that you’re a published photographer, are we all gonna have to start paying to access your website? 😉

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  February 2, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Hahah, nah. I don’t want to lose one of the perks I have now. I think it is easier to get permission to use photos because I get to say, “My blog is a personal one– I do not make money off of it.”

    Of course, I’ve never scientifically tested to see if people are more likely to say No if it were a commercial blog….🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Kitty Wilkin  |  February 8, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Congratulations!! Published! and in a magazine like American Forests… very cool… very cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


