Divorces and Horses

October 29, 2009 at 5:00 am 5 comments

Last week, I had to drop the dogs off at the vet for boarding. As knowing Jimmie trembled and clueless Henry wagged his tail, a female vet assistant emerged to take the dogs back.

It turned out an older lady in the waiting room knew the vet assistant.

“Are you still getting divorced?” she asked.

“Yeah,” the vet assistant replied and bent over to leash my poor dogs.

Having been through divorce, I felt empathy for the vet assistant. (I don’t believe my dogs felt the same way as at this point even Henry realized his destination.)

I put my hand on the vet assistant’s shoulder. Armed with the perspective of time, I was able to declare to the entire waiting room with complete confidence, “That was the BEST thing I’ve ever done!”

There was an awkward silence and the vet assistant looked perplexed.

“Buying a horse?” she asked.

And it was at this point, I realized I misheard the original question altogether.

What Vicky Heard Actual Question
Are you still getting divorced? Are you still getting a horse?
   

I could have tried to cover up my misunderstanding, but I came clean to the waiting room. Luckily, all the ladies agreed. A horse can be great, but a divorce can be even better. : )

P.S. I bet Kristina can comment in the spirit and cadence of the Mr. Ed Theme Song!

Entry filed under: Divorce. Tags: .

Subtle Adventure Time Pearle Vision and Rack Room Shoes in Coastland Center Mall

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  October 29, 2009 at 9:15 am

    That is one of the funniest things I’ve heard in a long time! Good job!

    Reply
  • 2. Angel Preble  |  October 29, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Hahahaha, awesome! It reminds me of that Lewis Black bit…

    If it weren’t for my horse I wouldn’t have spent that year in college….

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  October 29, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Amazing how we hear things through the lens of our own experience…

    Reply
  • 4. Kristina Rosenbaum  |  October 30, 2009 at 12:03 am

    A horse? A divorce? A forced discourse.
    A misunderstanding of no remorse,
    That is, of course, unless the divorce was forced upon the horse.

    Getting a horse and getting divorced,
    each has a consequence strictly enforced,
    “Changing either midstream isn’t ever endorsed,” writes poet Judith Viorst.

    Vicky, how is it that we’ve never met, and yet you know me so well? :p

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  October 30, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    @Kristina – Most excellent! You have quite the special talent!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


