Neighborhood Kid Activities – August 28th – September 5th

September 6, 2009 at 2:50 pm 7 comments

This past week has been especially busy with neighborhood kid activities. I thought I would share what we’ve been up to.

Saturday August 29th – Pancake Breakfast
For Christmas, my mother got me a skillet and a giant bag of pancake mix. The neighborhood children were her inspiration. “Those kids look like they want pancakes.” Now Ryan and I have made pancakes by ourselves, but we haven’t fed others yet. 18 year old Vick to called me out one Friday night.

“Your mama bought that big bag of mix and you still have not fed us pancakes.”

So we rectified that the very next morning. In addition to pancakes, we served fresh grapes, orange juice, bacon and eggs (with green pepper, garlic, onions and cheddar cheese). Counting me and Ryan, we fed twelve.

Whenever I’m doing these larger meals, I get significantly less sustainable.

Hunter Street - Pancake Breakfast
Breakfast

Wednesday, September 2nd – Girls Night
I don’t do it on purpose, but I often end up spending more time with the boys. It just so happens it’s the boys that around and willing to go when an adventuring opportunity such hiking or jet skiing surfaces. Once again, 18 year old Vick called me out. So we decided to have a girl’s night!

The girls decided on a dinner at Dragon Buffet. I added my own contribution to the evening by suggesting an outing to Camden Causeway Park beforehand. And you can’t have a girl’s night without dessert! (Perhaps another reason women are more likely to consume more calories around other women). We stopped by Dairy Queen on the way back home.

Hunter Street Girl's Night - Camden Causeway Park - Reisha, Vick, Khaliya, Ty with Lilypads
Girl’s Night – Camden Causeway Park

Hunter Street Girl's Night - Sunset at Dairy Queen
Girl’s Night – Sunset at Dairy Queen

Friday, September 4 – Rollerskating
Last week, our neighbor DJ turned sixteen. In celebration of his birthday, Ryan and I treated ten kids to rollerskating in Chesapeake, Virginia. The day before, I was weary about how much it was going to cost. $12 a person adds up. But after watching the girls skate and dance, seeing young Jacal and Tyrek get more and more steady with every lap, witnessing first time skater Terrance pick it up like it is nothing and seeing the older boys laugh and gawk at girls, I suspected it was worth every penny. The next day, 9 year old Tyrek confirmed my suspicion.

“I am not lying Vicky, that was my happy day ever. That was the funnest day of my life.”

Skating - Tyrek, Ryan
Tyrek with Ryan

All Week – Puppy Love!
My grown neighbor, Regina, has a new puppy named Asa. Asa made a few visits to the house and was the recipient of a lot of love.

Hunter Street - Tyrek and Asa
Tyrek with Puppy

Hunter Street - Drunk on Puppy Cuteness (by Tyrek)
Me, Completely Drunk on Puppy Cuteness : )

More pictures of our week, including Girl’s Night, Skating and Asa the Puppy can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City, Neighborhood Kids, Rollerblading. Tags: .

Kayaking on the New Baby Burs

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  September 6, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Asa has a beagle shape and Jimmie’s coloring. Looks like a cross between the two.

    Reply
  • 2. Angel Preble  |  September 6, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I got so excited when I saw the puppy on your photostream and thought you got a new one!

    BTW – just did a short backpacking trip in GWNF with our friends Scott and Melanie. Let me know next time you guys are thinking of doing a trip and we might all be game.

    Reply
  • 3. Michael Newman  |  September 6, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    You look more stoned than drunk!🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Carolyn  |  September 6, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Angel, we’re going camping at Elizabeth Furnace on 9/26.

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  September 8, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    That picture of you is hilarious!

    Dang, I need a dog…

    Reply
  • 6. Angel Preble  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Carolyn – yep, i know about that trip but it’s unlikely for me because work is really intense through the beginning of Oct. I’m just talking generally. Especially if it’s a backpacking trip.

    Reply
  • 7. The Neighborhood Girls, Cindy McGill and Mary Kay « TGAW  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:50 am

    […] this was an opportunity for an outing with the neighborhood girls! Sometimes I’m accused of not doing enough stuff with the girls. So on November 7, I drove two thirteen year olds and an eighteen year old up to the Mary Kay […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


