Counting on Cellphones

July 7, 2009 at 12:50 am 2 comments

You can read time and time again about how when you are hiking, you shouldn’t count on your cell phone working. A couple of weekends ago, I had a benign reminder of that fact while hiking in the Northwest River Park in Chesapeake, Virginia. After a few miles, I wanted to refer to the trail map which I did not have on me. But I did have the Blackberry! Although I had connectivity was able to get to and download the full trail map PDF, I was presented with a problem.

Northwest River Park - No Help From Blackberry
The Trail Map on the Blackberry

I had no means to zoom in! I found this mini trail map to be thoroughly useless. Good thing I didn’t really need it. : )

But don’t ditch your phone just yet. Even if you can’t bank on your cell phone fulfilling its intended function, you could assign it a tertiary duty. Backpacker Magazine has a video showing how you can use the battery and a Brillo pad to start a fire (Hat Tip, The Smoky Mountain Hiking Blog).

How cool is that?

Entry filed under: Cell Phone, Hiking, Northwest River Park, Virginia. Tags: .

Weekly Winners – June 28th – July 4th Hearts in Nature: Fruit

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  July 7, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I thought PDF’s couldn’t be viewed on a BB…?

    Heh – cool until you start a forest fire. Well, maybe that’s just my dry-as-a-bone west coast drought mind thinking. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  July 7, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    @geekhiker – I actually look at PDFs on the Blackberry pretty regularly. One of my applications mails out Food Safety Testing results in PDF format. With those– I have a handy dandy zoom.

    Not sure why there was no zoom for the trail map.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


