Real German Cuisine Challenge: Krabbenragout

July 1, 2009 at 9:49 pm 9 comments

My first, Christina, at An American Expat in Deutschland has been running a Real German Cuisine Challenge with her readers. It took me about two months, but I’ve done one of the recipes!

The dish I made was from the Krabbenragout Challenge (Full Recipe from Amiexpat). It features shrimp and spargel– aka white asparagus. I’ve been eyeing the recipe for a while and today was the day! Farm Fresh was carrying white asparagus and I had some leftover cream from a dish last week.

When I’m prepping vegetables, I tend to do it outside (See Fun with Brussel Sprouts from June 2007). It gives me some extra time outside with the dogs. Today was no exception– the asparagus and the shrimp were peeled outside. Jimmie, Henry and Stench were on hand.

Krabbenragout - Peeling Shrimp with Henry
Peeling Shrimp with Henry (Photo by Ryan Somma)

Krabbenragout - Peeling Shrimp with Jimmie
Peeling Shrimp with Jimmie (Photo by Ryan Somma)

Krabbenragout - Lazy Stench
Stench Relaxes on the Porch (Photo by Ryan Somma)

I didn’t take many pictures of the dish preparation. My kitchen is no where near as pristine as the other participants. Here is one photo that strategically frames out the mess. : )

Krabbenragout - Marinating Shrimp, Draining Spargel
Shrimp Marinating, Spargel Draining

Like Christina and Yelli from 50% of my DNA, I substituted the white pepper from the recipe with black pepper. Instead of rice, we served the dish with some multicolored pasta. I also added mushrooms to the sauce when I added the shrimp, the spargel and the peas. Mushrooms are a fixture is almost everything we make. They are especially good in Sloppy Joes and Chili. They were great in the Krabbenragout as well.

We LOVED the final dish. Very, very tasty.

Krabbenragout - Ryan with Final Dish
Ryan with the Final Dish

In our household, we typically end up feeding neighborhood kids whether we intend to or not. Tonight, when six year old Tykee showed an interest I let him have a small portion. He loved it as well– which actually is not surprising. He and his older brother have both demonstrated a fondness for steamed green asparagus and none of the children have exhibited an aversion to mushrooms. Tykee very much enjoyed the meal.

Krabbenragout - Tykee Looks Up From Dish
Tykee and German Cuisine

“Those aspears are good,” he concluded.

It took me a moment, but I realized he was talking about the asparagus.

Tykee enjoyed the meal so much, that I had to exercise a skill I have learned with Sloppy Joes and Tacos.

Declining requests for more. : )

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City, Food, Neighborhood Kids. Tags: .

Festival of the Trees – Edition 37 Waka Waka Waka – Pac Man in Nature

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristina Rosenbaum  |  July 1, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Vicky, that looks wonderful! My dog, Jupiter, is part German Shepherd, part Golden Retriever, and part Chow. I call him my German Chow Retriever, and I am ready to send him on a cross-country trek to fetch me some of your Krabbenragout. Keep cooking, and (really trying to be helpful, not critical) learn to clean as you go. It makes cooking so much more joyful! As someone who, five years ago, could not cook anything without demolishing a kitchen, using up every clean dish in the cupboards and serving at 1 am, I am now a HUGE proponent of clean-as-you-go! Uebung macht den Meister!

    Reply
  • 2. Chriggy  |  July 2, 2009 at 12:53 am

    Sorry, I’m not the fondest of German food. And I’m half German🙂
    And God forbid THE German food. Sauerkraut. Or potato salad. Or cabbage in general. Or pickled herring(a fave of my granddads). Or Rhubarb. Maybe I had a bad childhood experience or two(or more).

    I’m sure your meal was great, just probably wouldn’t be for me.

    Reply
  • 3. stephanie  |  July 2, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Looks great – hope you join us with some more recipes! And about the clean kitchens….. camera angles and cropping help with “hiding” the mess in the kitchen!!!! I usually just shove stuff to the side when taking a pic! Glad you enjoyed the dish!

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  July 2, 2009 at 8:37 am

    @Kristina – Haha– “Clean as you go” would be a HUGE paradigm shift for me, but it sounds like it is definitely worth the investment!

    @Chriggy – Actually, you might be surprised with this dish. It was sort of like the insides of a nice creamy pot pie.

    @stephanie – Aha! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your secret. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Chriggy  |  July 2, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Well, I DO like pot pies.

    Reply
  • […] Vicky at TGAW […]

    Reply
  • 7. Christina | AmiExpat  |  July 5, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Glad you liked it, I got the post updated now. My kitchen is never clean. I totally use the push stuff to the side and clever angles thing to get nice looking photos. Notice how many of my end result photos are outside – well, it’s better light too😉

    And Chriggy, I’ve lived in Germany for 7 years and am just now doing these recipes. I had a bad opinion of German food for a long time, but I think it was just living in Berlin. That region doesn’t seem to care much about food. Now I’m in Bavaria and the food is awesome. It convinced me to do this. It’s not all sauerkraut and pickled herrings😉

    Reply
  • 8. Chriggy  |  July 5, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    My grandparents lived in northern Germany(Osnabrueck), so that may have something to do with it.

    Reply
  • 9. Carolyn  |  July 6, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Sauerkraut is awesome. An ex-coworker of mine gave me some homemade sauerkraut that was the best I’ve ever eaten. My cat Samhain was going crazy for it to the point where he was knocking it off of my fork in order to get some.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


