The Hubble Telescope and my Underwear

May 21, 2009 at 11:42 am 13 comments

When the Hubble Telescope was first launched by NASA, it infamously had a bad mirror. It produced nothing but blurry images and the project became a national joke. But three and a half years later, the telescope was repaired and since then has produced 570,000 images, crisp images, capturing the beauty of wonder of space.



Before and After Hubble Repair (Hat Tip, Ryan Somma)

A few weeks ago at the Norfolk Botanical Gardens I got caught in a rain storm. Sadly, my camera got a few droplets on its lens. Wiping it with my soaked shirt just made it worse– and putting the lens cap complicated the matter even more, adding fog into the mix. All my pictures were coming out blurry. Like NASA, I had to make some corrections. And like NASA, I had some complications. Their telescope was 350 miles above Earth. And me– every garment I had was wet from the storm.

Except one.

Insulated by denim, my underwear was dry.

And like the Hubble Telescope, once attended to, my camera, started to produce crisp images. Luckily, my operation was a lot less expensive than NASA’s. : )

Norfolk Botanical Gardens - Before Cleaning Lense with Underwear (Cropped)
Before Cleaning with my Underwear

Norfolk Botanical Gardens - After Cleaning Lense with Underwear (Cropped)
After Cleaning with my Underwear

In case you are skeptical of my claim, Ryan Somma did catch a “Behind the Scenes” moment of my blog.

Entry filed under: Blog Behind the Scenes, Norfolk, Photography. Tags: .

Arbor Day: Alaska Google Doodle Trees

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shirley Buxton  |  May 21, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Your title snagged me.

    Reply
  • 2. gasstationdave  |  May 21, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Wholeheartedly remarkable Vicky! I can see today, why they pay you the big bucks my brilliantly resourceful friend! =)

    Reply
  • 3. Joe Frambach  |  May 21, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    This is why I always wear two pairs of underwear. Always.

    Reply
  • 4. Anne  |  May 21, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I told you to buy and carry tissues. Hard to carry a roll of toilet paper.

    Reply
    • 5. Clint  |  May 21, 2009 at 6:22 pm

      You gotta be careful. Some paper can damage lenses. Lens clothes are made especially for lenses. Though I keep mine by my LCD TV for cleaning the LCD screen without damaging it. $2350 screen vs $400 camera….

      Reply
      • 6. Clint  |  May 21, 2009 at 6:22 pm

        Oooh, threaded commenting renumbers them. No more saying “@ Comment#24”!

      • 7. chriggy  |  May 21, 2009 at 10:01 pm

        In most cases you’re safe, unless you have a REALLY cheap camera with a plastic lens. It’s pretty hard to scratch glass.

  • 8. Kristina Rosenbaum  |  May 21, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Schuster postulated the concept of antimatter. Vicky has proven the usefulness of pantymatter…scientific scenarios in which panties do, indeed, matter.

    Reply
  • 9. Homer_Dog  |  May 21, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Note to self: pack a pair of the Wife’s panties in my camera bag. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. scienceguy288  |  May 21, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Haha! I love the comparison! And yes, both shots improved vastly!

    Reply
  • 11. gasstationdave  |  May 21, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    LOL Clint, you discovered an endless loop here in WordPress!

    Note to self, always wear a lens cleaner beneath outer garments for optimal clarity of photography.

    Reply
  • 12. geekhiker  |  May 23, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    A self-wedgie. I’m impressed!

    Reply
  • 13. 6 Year Blogaversary « TGAW  |  March 14, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    […] The Hubble Telescope and my Underwear Hehe. I dunno. I may just like this one because it has underwear in the title. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


