Roanoke Outdoor and Social Club Hiker Challenge – Advanced Hiker

April 26, 2009 at 10:18 pm 3 comments

On Saturday, James I. and I ascended Flat Top at Peaks of Otter. That was the last hike I needed to complete the Roanoke Outdoor and Social Club’s Advanced Hiker category in their Hiker Challenge.  They have challenged their members to do specific area hikes and submit photographs of themselves at the top.  If the Hiker Challenge page is up to date, then I’m the second hiker and the first female to finish that category! : )

Advanced Hiker:

Vicky Dogs Top Dragon’s Tooth
View in Summer McAfee’s Knob
Tinker Cliffs - Vicky Tinker Cliffs
Flat Top - Vicky with Sharp Top Flat Top
Vicky and James Sharp Top
Kelly's Knob 2006 - Vicky At Top Kelly’s Knob
Vicky, Henry, Jimmie Angel’s Rest
Carvin Cove / Hay Rock Overlook

For more information on the Hiker Challenge, check out the Roanoke Outdoor and Social Club.

Entry filed under: Blueridge Parkway, Flat Top, Hiking, Peaks of Otter. Tags: .

Arbor Day: Connecticut, DC, Delaware, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota…. [Taking Deep Breath]…. Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin….. and U.S.A. Weekly Winners – April 19 – April 25, 2009

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  April 27, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Look at you, strikin da pose on Kelly’s Knob!

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  May 1, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    @geekhiker – Hehe. Believe it or not, one of the hardest things about this Hiker Challenge was finding pictures of myself at the top. For example, I had been to Kelly’s Knob about a dozen of times. That is the only picture I could find of myself at top. Now, I have tons and tons and tons of pictures of the dogs at the top or the twisted, mutated tree at top. Sadly, that wasn’t the challenge!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Shoeless Wanderer  |  September 6, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Ahh, those are some of my favorite hikes! I’m from the Blacksburg area and use to hike that area all the time! I’m now in Virginia Beach, so it’s quite a drive to get an actual mountain, sad, but loved your pics!

    Anyways, I’m new to wordpress and was just wandering around meeting my new “neighbors” and just thought I’d leave that quick little note that I enjoyed reading your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


