Fred Lynn Flu Hits Appalachian Trail?

April 23, 2009 at 10:00 am 6 comments

When I was in eighth grade, a rapid spreading stomach flu spread through my middle school and a vast majority of the students, including myself, became violently ill. So many people were sick, school actually closed down. My former classmates and I still find occassion to talk about the incident every now and then. We refer to it as the “Fred Lynn Flu”

Thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail is a challenge when you are healthy. Imagine what it’s like if you are ill! I’ve been following the blogs a few of the 2009 thru-hikers this year and it looks like one group south of Damascus has an added obstacle– something as contagious and as miserable as the infamous Fred Lynn Flu.

Excerpts from timeoutdoors.blogspot.com

April 17, 2009 Entry

…About 11 last night I feel it and throwup in my hammock all over sleeping bag and clothes. I couldn’t stop. I got out and put on what few clothes I had left then went to the fire. I stayed there till 3am then figured I would hike the six miles to kincora hostel. I made it to the hostile this morning and washed my bag, hammock, etc….

April 20, 2009 Entry

What’s going on? That’s what we would like to know. We all cooked out at Watauga and later that night three people got sick. Four people left on the 19th and Pokey, Glowworm and I stayed behind to help. Later Glowworm got sick so it was just Pokey and I. Everyone else was sick for most of the day. Today we moved on and 7 miles later we ran into 3 of the 4 that had left the day before and they were all puking. Two others we stayed with at the hostile are sick as well. We all just want to get to Damascus at this point…

April 21, 2009 Entry

The saga continues. Two more are out for the count today….

But things are looking up! 

April 22, 2009 Entry

Finally a night where no one got sick.

Hopefully it stays that way!

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, vomit. Tags: .

Phytoremediating Doritos Bags and Soda Cans Arbor Day: Connecticut, DC, Delaware, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota…. [Taking Deep Breath]…. Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin….. and U.S.A.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  April 23, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Muaahaha, I escaped the Fred Lynn Flu unscathed, and you didn’t.

    But I remember it like it was yesterday.. We saw The Land Before Time…. Then you threw up.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  April 23, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Hahaha – Yup! Good memory! The Land Before Time. You, me, Oakly and Beth Brynes!

    Reply
  • 3. Sheer  |  April 23, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Bleh. Fred Lynn. There’s a name that I had honestly hoped never to see again, except perhaps in a news brief that Fred Lynn Middle School had been declared unfit for humanity and demolished..😉

    Sorry people are getting sick, though..

    Reply
  • 4. Anne  |  April 25, 2009 at 8:57 am

    When Carolyn was a year old, I asked the doctor if she was going to get a measles shot. He said no, in the 11 months since Vicky was a year old the medical profession decided the shot was more effective if given at 18 months old. I was not smart enough to ask why we didn’t redo Vicky, but I think the doctor should have been.

    Reply
  • 5. Sheer  |  April 28, 2009 at 1:25 am

    I wonder, idly, if this has anything to do with the recent outbreak of swine flu…

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  May 1, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    @Anne – Are you saying the Fred Lynn Flu was the measles?

    @Sheer – I had forgotten you had gone to Fred Lynn– but it makes sense. You were in the right neighborhood!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


