McAfee’s Knob in the Snow

March 9, 2009 at 6:00 am 7 comments

This time last week, I was a little bitter. It seemed everyone I knew got tons of snow. And not just any snow. Great snow. Fun snow. Perfect snowball and snowman making snow. The kind of snow that just lights up the Appalachian Mountains. The kind of snow that makes the air pure and crisp and invigorates you as you breath. The kind of snow I would love to hike in.

But…outside my window in Elizabeth City, North Carolina, everything from my level yard to the flat horizon was still brown and green.

Luckily, it is Flickr to the rescue! Even though I was snowless and separated from the mountains, I still got to appreciate a wintry version of the Appalachian Trail’s staple, McAfee’s Knob. One photographer snagged a shot of McAfee’s Knob from Roanoke’s Mill Mountain. Meanwhile another spent 4 hours hiking to get pictures from the top.


McAfee’s Knob from Mill Mountain (Photo Courtesy of konrad_photography)


Top of McAfee’s Knob (Photo by daveelmore)


View from McAfee’s Knob – I Highly Recommend Viewing the Full Size Version (Photo by daveelmore)

Ah…. just lovely.

Bitterness gone.

Entry filed under: Appalachian Mountains, Appalachian Trail, Hiking, McAfee's Knob. Tags: .

Appalachian Mountain Photography Competition: Voting Camden County Jeep Trail, Dead Things and the Mystery Mail Truck

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Thomas  |  March 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Great photos all around! I hadn’t thought of using Flickr to clear away my outdoor blues. But I will in the future!

    Oh, and I totally voted for YOUR photo cause it had some REALLY HOT male models in it. Specially that bald guy!

    Later!

    Reply
  • 2. Thomas  |  March 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Great photos all around! I hadn’t thought of using Flickr to clear away my outdoor blues. But I will in the future!

    Oh, and I totally voted for YOUR BRP/Appalachian Trail photo cause it had some REALLY HOT male models in it. Specially that bald guy!

    Later!

    Reply
  • 3. Thomas  |  March 9, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Umm… what had happen’d was….

    Reply
  • 4. Matt  |  March 9, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Heh, I’ll tell you what, I’ll switch you places. I’d kill for a nice long stretch of warm weather, blue skies, and green and/or brown grass right now. I am sick to death of snow and mud and rain and gray skies. And maybe our mountains aren’t quite as cool as yours, but they’ll do for you in a pinch, I’d imagine.😉

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  March 9, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I think you should strap on some snowshoes and get up there!

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  March 11, 2009 at 8:55 am

    @Thomas – Yes, those photographers did a great job on those McAfee Knob shots! And thanks for your vote… even if it was driven by your libido. 🙂

    @Matt – I do like the mountains in the Pittsburgh area! They are very scenic, especially the way the city has built homes up the slopes.

    @geekhiker – Snowshoes isn’t what’s holding me back. That mountain is now six hours away! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Angel Preble  |  March 14, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Aaaw, seeing this makes me miss home (Catskills). When we could we liked to go hiking in the snow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


