Weekly Winners – February 8th – February 14th

February 15, 2009 at 2:28 am 15 comments

This past week I was on a business trip to Wisconsin. On my way there, I got to fly over some of the Great Lakes which were completely frozen. I was lucky with the weather and it was actually relatively warm for Wisconsin. I spent some time one evening exploring the marshland behind the hotel. During the workdays, I worked at a bakery. Many pictures were taken (and many, many more calories were ingested). Once I was back home in North Carolina I took the dogs out to a park called “Fun Junktion” (It’s right next to a landfill) and discovered the red maples are flowering!

Michigan - Frozen Water
Ice near Detroit Michigan…from above

La Crosse - Marsh and Shopping Center (Portrait)
Dusk at a marsh behind Stony Creek Inn in Onalaska, WI

Bakery - Mixing Glaze In Front of Donut Line
A bakery worker prepares icing for donuts

Bakery - Workers Boxing and Falling Donut
Bakery workers package donuts. Meanwhile a reject falls off the assembly line.

Fun Junktion - Sky Reflection
Reflection of the sky at Fun Junktion

Fun Junktion - Starburst of Red Maple Flowers
Starburst of red maple flowers at Fun Junktion

More pictures of my business trip to Wisconsin and my outing to Fun Junktion can be found on my Flickr site. Also, be sure to check out more of this week’s Weekly Winners out at Sarcastic Mom!

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, Travel, trees, Weekly Winners, Wisconsin. Tags: .

The Romantic Parasite Charles Darwin, the Emetophobe’s Hero

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christina | AmiExpat  |  February 15, 2009 at 2:46 am

    Love the dusk shot. I’m so jealous that you got to see and eat all those donuts – or maybe my waistline should just be glad I wasn’t there. Are those Krispy Kremes? I heard Krispy Kreme might go out of business.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  February 15, 2009 at 2:51 am

    @Christina – Nope, not Krispy Kreme’s. This bakery is for a convenience story chain in Minnesota and Wisconsin. They make a number of delicious products (muffins, cookies, brownies, donuts) and they are soooo good right off the line when they are still warm.

    I’ve been onsite at mines, paper mills, beef processing plants and dairies. They all have their odors, but I do have to say, the Bakery by far smells the best.

    I ate a lot of various goodies. A LOT.

    Reply
  • 3. Tara R.  |  February 15, 2009 at 2:53 am

    That first shot is amazing. The factory shots just make me hungry!

    Reply
  • 4. Tracey  |  February 15, 2009 at 2:55 am

    I love the ‘reflection’ one- absolutely gorgeous.

    Reply
  • 5. tiff  |  February 15, 2009 at 3:08 am

    I love all of these but that first one…there are no words, really. Stunning.

    Reply
  • 6. hip chick  |  February 15, 2009 at 3:45 am

    mmm…donuts!

    Reply
  • 7. Maggie's Mind  |  February 15, 2009 at 3:55 am

    Wow, these are gorgeous! The donuts are cool, but the nature shots are truly amazing. Love the last one.

    Reply
  • 8. frogpondsrock  |  February 15, 2009 at 4:37 am

    That first shot is simply stunning, the frozen lakes just look absolutely gorgeous.. Great photos!!! and thanks for telling me about iNaturalist I will go and have a look.. cheers kim

    Reply
  • 9. picklebums  |  February 15, 2009 at 6:13 am

    Love photos from planes… still can’t believe those things actually fly! And I’ll eat the reject do-nuts!!! Great photos!

    Reply
  • 10. Smoochiefrog  |  February 15, 2009 at 9:11 am

    The 5th shot is my favorite. Yum, donuts! 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Secret Agent Mama  |  February 15, 2009 at 10:02 am

    That reflection is PHENOMENAL!

    Reply
  • 12. Sarcastic Mom  |  February 15, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Your shots are really beautiful.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Secret Mom Thoughts  |  February 15, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Love the dusk shot.

    Reply
  • 14. Aaron  |  February 19, 2009 at 7:53 am

    NO SUCH THING AS A REJECT DONUT!

    MAN DOWN!

    MAN DOWN!

    Reply
  • 15. tgaw  |  February 19, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Thanks All!

    @Aaron – Yeah, I would definitely eat the rejects. They were just not perfect circles… but I bet they are still incredibly delicious and fattening.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


