Frozen Falls Ridge

January 26, 2009 at 8:00 am 4 comments

Greetings from Blacksburg, Virginia where I’ll be most of this coming week. I am here for business, but as soon as I heard about the trip I started to covet frozen waterfalls. It just so happens my drive into town took me right by the Nature Conservancy‘s Falls Ridge Nature Preserve. There was still a little bit of daylight, so I stopped by and see how the falls looked. They were indeed frozen!

If you have never seen a frozen waterfall in real life before, definitely put it on your life’s “To Do”  list.

Falls Ridge - Falls and Frozen Stream

Falls Ridge - Columns of Ice

Falls Ridge - Cylinder of Ice

Falls Ridge - Tree Grows in Ice

Falls Ridge - Shelves

More pictures of Frozen Falls Ridge can be found on my Flickr site.

Additional Posts from this Blog on Falls Ridge

Entry filed under: Falls Ridge, Hiking, Waterfall. Tags: .

Weekly Winners – January 18 – January 24th Open Source Holiday Letter

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  January 26, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I’ll just enjoy your pictures. Too cold for me!

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  January 26, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Not many of those in Southern California. Guess I’ll just have to stare at your pictures and dream for now…

    Reply
  • 3. Sean  |  January 27, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    Very cool shots Vicky! I’ve been waiting for it to snow so I could head up to the Cascades and hopefully get some frozen waterfall shots. Didn’t realize I could find some here too! =)

    Reply
  • 4. Weekly Winners - January 25th - January 31st « TGAW  |  February 1, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    […] Virginia.  Although it was a business trip, I did find enough time to sneak out and see a frozen waterfall in Blacksburg, Virginia and take a walk on the History Trail at Appomattox Court House National […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


