Squirrel Appreciation Day

January 23, 2009 at 10:34 am 9 comments

Whoopsie. Wednesday, January 21 was Squirrel Appreciation Day (Hat Tip,


A hot squirrel rests on an 100 degree day in Oakland (Photo by headexplodie)


Squirrel sunning himself (Photo by akahodag)


Squirrel taking advantage of a balcony bean bag chair (Photo by mseckington)


Squirrel appreciating the coolness of fresh, shaded dirt (Photo by mandj98)


Entry filed under: Nature, Squirrel. Tags: .

Cats in Icosahedrons? Weekly Winners – January 18 – January 24th

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  January 23, 2009 at 10:43 am

    That bean bag picture makes me want to put a bean bag outside just for the explicit purpose of luring squirrels into that cute position!!!

    I’m having cuteness convulsions.

    Reply
  • 2. Carolyn  |  January 23, 2009 at 10:44 am

    As always, talk of squirrels reminds me of Chriggy’s fat squirrel http://www.flickr.com/photos/chriggy/152789263/

    Reply
  • 3. scienceguy288  |  January 24, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Haha! I love these photos very comical.

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  January 24, 2009 at 11:16 am

    @scienceguy288 – Yay! It is another “Hooray for Creative Commons” moment

    Reply
  • 5. Anne  |  January 24, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    I can’t find the squirrel in the bean bag chair’s head. How come I have so much trouble with animals when they roll in a ball I can always find my dogs heads.

    Reply
  • 6. Carolyn  |  January 24, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    It’s buried under it’s tail.
    It is laying counter-clockwise.

    Reply
  • 7. Christina | AmiExpat  |  January 25, 2009 at 2:57 am

    So cute. Oh my gosh! Reminds me of an experiment I ran across back when I was in grad school

    http://www.wafu.ne.jp/~yaz/en/squirrel_fishing.html

    Reply
  • 8. Anne  |  January 25, 2009 at 5:02 am

    I like that experiment. Years ago I tried the pinecone with peanut butter rolled in birdseed. I tied 2 of them to trees in the back yard. Squirrel came, didn’t want to eat. Wanted to take home and store. 2 days, they got the staples out and left the cord tied to trees.

    Reply
  • 9. Groundhogs in Trees « TGAW  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:02 am

    […] climate change. Next, I learned that groundhogs are actually squirrels (Ah, so that’s why Squirrel Appreciation Day and Groundhog Day are so close together). Finally, and most surprisingly, I learned that groundhogs […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


