Reference Material: Vicky!

January 22, 2009 at 10:00 am 2 comments

Last July, an artist based in Charlotte, North Carolina by the name of Murphy Ayala asked me if she could paint one of my rhododendron pictures or use it as reference material. She didn’t specify which one, but it didn’t matter! I enthusiastically agreed.

In a post last month, I talked about all the different sources Norman Rockwell used in his paintings and speculated he would be fond of Creative Commons. Just two days after that post, I got to see how thrilling it is to be a Creative Commons source! Murphy Ayala’s painting, “Mountain Rhododendron”, was complete and on her website (Click on Paintings->Landscapes).

My father has always amazed me with his ability to recall specific bridge hands and bidding sequences from two decades ago. When I was younger, I was perplexed by how he could do that. Now I understand it is a symptom of passion. We remember what we love. I have taken hundreds and hundreds of shots of rhododendrons through the years. Still when I saw Murphy’s rendition I instantly recognized the hike.

“Apple Orchard Falls!”

Photograph & Painting
My original shot from Apple Orchard Falls May 2007 and Murphy Ayala’s Mountain Rhododendron

What an amazing thrill to see scenery I love translated over to a painting!

Now, Murphy Ayala is arguably not as famous as Norman Rockwell, but she is pretty darn popular. You know how I know? When you start to type her name in a search, Google suggests her!

How Popular Murphy Ayala Is

I’m certainly not that popular. (ClintJCL, you are!)

To thank me, Murphy Ayala is going to send me some small studies she did before the final painting! Between that and a painting of a moonlit birch tree I bought at a local coffeehouse last week, it appears I’m becoming a collector. 🙂

Entry filed under: Art, Murphy Ayala, Rhododendron, trees. Tags: .

iNaturalist: East Coast vs. West Coast On the Subject of Creative Commons…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  January 22, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Aww, I’m not that popular either.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  January 22, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Ryan Somma is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


