Virgin Islands: Sunrises and Sunsets

January 17, 2009 at 8:00 am 10 comments

Snorkeling at the Norman Island Caves, I exposed to so much diversity. The variety of colors and textures were amazing.

Above water, breathing through my nose instead my mouth, I was exposed to the same thing in the sky at day and dusk. Each day I was dazzled by the visuals. The textures in the clouds and water differed from day to day. So did the colors. Sometimes the day ended in blues and purples. Sometimes it began with orange. Sometimes the sky was painted with pinks. Sometimes it was a vibrant gold.

As beautiful as diversity was underneath the surface of the water, it was more so in the sky.


Sunset, St. John

Sunrise, Virgin Gorda

Sunset, Peter Island

Sunset, Guana Island (HT Israel)

Sunrise, Virgin Gorda

Sunset, Tortola

More pictures of the Virgin Islands can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: sunset, Travel, Virgin Islands. Tags: .

links for 2009-01-16 Weekly Winners – January 11 – 17, 2009

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  January 17, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Completely unrelated to this post, but I thought you might be interested in this:

    http://www.environmentalgraffiti.com/featured/objects-devoured-by-the-jungle/5989

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  January 17, 2009 at 9:33 am

    @Katie – Holy Cow!!! I LOVED those pictures!!! Thanks for passing that link on.

    P.S. This is my first comment posted from my new Blackberry.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. scienceguy288  |  January 17, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Brilliant, I love the shots with the sparkling water as a blood red sun comes from behind the distant mountains.

    Reply
  • 4. Israel  |  January 17, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Sunset, Virgin Guana? Or did you mean Sunset, Virgin Gorda.

    Reply
  • 5. Anne  |  January 18, 2009 at 7:28 am

    I was thinking this morning, before I saw this post, that my family sees a lot more sunsets than sunrises. Your post proved me right.

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  January 18, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    @Israel – Thanks for posting! It was a sunset I took from the shore of Virgin Guana. I’m not sure what the island is in the shot offhand, though. Thanks again for posting.

    @Anne – Hahaha– yup you are right. I think that was the only sunrise witnessed on the trip and it was witnessed by one person.

    Reply
  • 7. Israel  |  January 19, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I am sorry, where is Virgin Guana? I know of Guana Island, but that is where my knowledge of the Virgin Islands ends.

    Reply
  • 8. tgaw  |  January 19, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Gah! It looks like it goes by “Guana Island” and not “Virgin Guana” It is off the northeast side of Tortola.

    As embarrassing as this name mishap may be– it could have been a lot worst. I originally had it labeled and tagged as “Virgin Guano” in all my posts and Flickr pictures. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Israel  |  January 19, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Glad I could help!

    Reply
  • 10. tgaw  |  January 19, 2009 at 11:34 am

    @Israel – Thanks and thanks for posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


