Virgin Islands: Gorda Peak National Park

January 15, 2009 at 8:30 am 5 comments

Our last day at Virgin Gorda, we went hiking! We left Leverick Bay at sea level, hiked up Leverick Bay Road and then took North Sound Road up to Gorda Peak National Park. From there we had a 25 minute hike to the tallest point of the island and a lookout tower. By the time we returned to the boat, we had gone 6.2 miles and ascended 1500 feet.

Views
One great thing I enjoyed about this hike was you had views almost the entire time. It was great to look back and see the boat. Walking on the roads, you passed through little towns and got a feel for island life. The last mile was a more typical hiking trail, winding through a forest. Although all the vegetation around me was foreign, being under a tree canopy and surrounded by greenery was a familiar sensation. I felt like I was home. Of course, the view from the lookout tower was stunning– you could see the ocean in all directions!


Our boat near the beginning of the hike


The island from North Sound Road


View from the tippy top of the island


Me at Gorda Peak! Like those new shorts from Jost Van Dyke?

Flora

This day was epiphyte day! On North Sound Road, I passed a tree covered in air plants. On the trail to Gorda Peak, I took a picture of a Heart in Nature which turned out to be heart-shaped anthurium, another epiphyte. Who knew!


Air plants off North Sound Road


Heart shaped anthurium

Fauna

Like Jost Van Dyke, Virgin Gorda had goats. Lots of goats. Thus, I got lots of goat pictures. My favorite was on the way back down to the boat. I passed a house that still had its Christmas decorations out in the front yard where some goats were grazing. The result? A Nativity scene with real live goats!


Nativity Scene with Real Live Goats!

We also passed a number of chickens. I was most impressed by the flock that discovered a handy stockpile of food.


Dumpster Diving Chickens


King of the Dumpster!

Each island we stopped on, I would spot a termite nest. As we went from St. Thomas to Jost Van Dyke to Virgin Guana, the nests seemed to get bigger and bigger. On Virgin Gorda, I saw the biggest one of the entire trip. Jimmie wasn’t around for his measurement duties, so I had to step up to the plate:


Me and termite nest. Click on picture to see Flickr note.

Kill Nothing But Time

On various trails, I have seen a lot of signs that remind hikers to, “Take only pictures, leave only footprints.” At Gorda Peak National Park, I saw a sign with nice addition to that phrase:

Touch only your heart and kill nothing but time.

I liked that. And I complied. I left very touched by this hike and I killed a great deal of time.

More pictures of the Gorda Peak Hike can be found on my Flickr site.

Gorda Peak From Leverick Bay

Length: 6.2 miles

Elevation Gain: 1500 Feet

Directions

Have an incredibly generous family member take you to the Virgin Islands

Anchor at Leverick Bay at Virgin Gorda

Entry filed under: Chicken, Epiphyte, goat, Hiking, Travel, Virgin Gorda, Virgin Islands. Tags: .

Virgin Islands: The Baths at Virgin Gorda Virgin Islands: Sunset Loop on Peter Island

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scienceguy288  |  January 15, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I hear termites are really good, kind of zingy like lemons. Not that I have tried it. Haha. Very cool to see them in such numbers.

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  January 16, 2009 at 10:39 am

    You know… I didn’t think to try one.

    I had a friend in high school who wanted to eat an ant, but had fluctuating nerve on the matter. Every time he found an ant he would debate, “Should I eat this ant? I wonder what it will taste like. Maybe it’s nasty. Maybe it taste great…”

    This went on for months and finally one day he finally got the muster to eat the ant.

    After all that debate and build up, he found the experience to be a pretty anticlimactic.

    Though he did report, “I didn’t expect it to taste so sour”

    Reply
  • 3. gregchant  |  October 17, 2013 at 2:52 am

    Nice pictures from the overlook of the Gorda Peak. I’m assuming that’s Necker Island on the far left?

    Reply
    • 4. Vicky  |  October 17, 2013 at 9:37 am

      Thanks for commenting! Unfortunately, I have to confess I am not familiar enough with the local geography to confirm it’s Necker Island. 🙂

      Reply
  • […] me a sense of freedom and serenity. I had also chosen the resort because it was just one mile from Gorda Peak National Park. I had visited almost every national park back in India and now I was ready to experience the one […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


