Virgin Islands: Guana Island

January 14, 2009 at 8:00 am 3 comments

Tuesday took us to scenic Guana Island.  There, themes that would last the rest of the trip got their start. First off– anchored offshore in crisp blue waters, that is when we started jumping off the boat. Some of us were more a little more adventurous than others.


Lee flips off deck (Photo by Kevin)

Once we all had a chance to succumb to gravity, our attention turned to the island itself. Here’s how the island is described on guana.com:

850 acres of undisturbed natural beauty. Seven pristine, white power-sand beaches and miles of tropical forest, mountains, hill and valleys.

Best of all, with acres of privacy per guest (usually around 30 at a time), and no marina or public facilities of any kind, you’ll barely have to share it with anyone.

We did have to share it with others, but not with many others at all. The crew managed to sneak ashore ahead of us and set up a nice beach area. They armed us with all the makings for a great stay– chairs, snorkeling equipment and the all important, rum punch.


Near empty beach!


Kevin carries his fiance into the water. There is no one else in the ocean!


Pelicans fly over the ocean

The children were not onshore for very long. They almost immediately got back on the tender to tackle wakeboarding.


Chase, Devin, Lee and Kaylee pose on Virgin Guana (Photo by Kevin)

Virgin Guana was amazingly beautiful, but it isn’t a landscape shot that is my favorite for the day.  It’s a wakeboarding shot by Kevin. Kevin caught my cousin, Allison, getting up on the wakeboard.


Allison wakeboarding (Photo by Kevin)

What endears me to this shot? Let’s look closer at the tender:


The tender cheers

Look how excited everyone is for Allison!!! Even one of the crew members, Alex, is raising his arms to clap. I LOVE it!

While the children wakeboarded, I got to snorkel for the very first time! Where we were at, the coral and rocks were mostly off-white and tan and the fish were mostly silver, so the experience wasn’t very colorful. However, I found myself absolutely fascinated by all the textures. There was such a variety. Before I knew it, two hours had gone by.

“Wow, you didn’t like that much.” Lee joked when I got out of the water.

We returned to the Sovereign for lunch where another trip-long theme commenced. The nail polish made its first appearance! Nail polish would prove to an indispensable amusement in the coming days. In fact, it has earned itself its very own post!

Nail polish also managed to mold my afternoon at Guana Island. After lunch, I painted my toenails. Looking down on a rocking boat… well, it made me queasy.  The crew got me to shore stat and the turn of events was serendipitous. Once I started to feel better, I got to walk along shore and really absorb the smaller facets of the island. I had spent so much time snorkeling, I really didn’t get to notice the beauty of the seagrapes, the washed up old coral and the rocks.

Thanks to my now purple toenails, I got to absorb my surroundings in much deeper detail.


Seagrapes on Guana Island


Old coral and rocks in the sand


A pelican in a tree at Guana Island


Wave splashes over a rock

Our stay at Guana Island came to a close later that afternoon.  We had a space reserved to dock at the Virgin Gorda Yacht Club, so we headed out that way.  We arrived to find another boat was in our spot.  At that point, our ship’s captain, Steve, got to demonstrate some mad skills.  With the help of his able crew, he managed to park our 120-foot yacht in a very snug spot between two other boats.

“You knew it was intense,” my Uncle Jonathan reported later, “when Steve asked us to turn down Rock Band.”

There were no shed tears over the Rock Band haitus.  Watching Steve and the crew park the boat proved to be just as captivating as any video game could be.


Everyone watching the parking operation from the top deck

And thus, the next phase of our journey, a three day visit to Virgin Gorda, began.

More pictures of Guana Island can be found on my Flickr site.

 

Entry filed under: Allison Sawyer, Jonny Sawyer, Rock Band, Snorkeling, Travel, Uncategorized, Virgin Islands. Tags: .

Virgin Islands: Jost Van Dyke Virgin Islands: The Baths at Virgin Gorda

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. scienceguy288  |  January 14, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I am green with envy right now. Freezing cold where I am at, but at least the snow is beautiful.

    The water is so clear. That always amazed me about the Carribean.

    Reply
  • 2. Virgin Islands: Snorkeling Norman Caves « TGAW  |  January 16, 2009 at 8:32 am

    […] the caves was AMAZING. I had seen plenty of washed up coral on the beaches of Virgin Guana and Peter Island and now I got to see what those creatures looked like alive. Resurrection… […]

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  January 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

    @scienceguy288 – Right now I’m actually routing for the cold. Later this month, I’m going to be in Southwest Virginia and I’m hoping to see some a frozen waterfall. The colder it gets, the better my chances!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


