Money Where My Mouth Is

November 9, 2008 at 10:29 pm 5 comments

Greetings from Elizabeth City, North Carolina which will be my home base in the coming months. I still have a formidable travel schedule (leaving for Amsterdam on Thursday, have trips to Wisconsin and Kansas in the works and then a trip to the Virgin Islands this winter) and I’ll be routinely returning to Blacksburg to monitor the house and take care of some local customers. But for the most part, I’ll be calling Elizabeth City home.

Over the past couple of years, I have overheard people complain about their lives and appoint all sorts of scapegoats. Location is a common one. Living among the exciting mountains and surrounded by hundreds of miles of trails and incredible vistas, it is easy for me to disagree and disagree vehemently with one statement that seemed to surface regularly:

I am an adventure lover. There is just no adventure in <insert city/town name here>.

Yeah. I do not subscribe to that (especially when you are talking about Southwest Virginia, punks!). I believe if adventure and curiosity are in your heart, if you have a thirst to learn and absorb more about your surroundings, then an adventure can be uncovered in most places.

I’ve found plenty to explore in so-called “boring” locales– Logan Lake; Ottawa, IL; Wichita, KS; Mount Vernon, IN. However, these are week-long trials. Small scale tests– unit tests.

But a large scale stress test? I’ve had the luxury to skip that… until now.

So here I am, separated from biodiverse Appalachian Mountains. I now have the opportunity to grade my own accuracy (Honor system!). Will I still find stuff to do? Will I still find myself fascinated and inspired by nature? Will I still find places to explore outside? Will I still find stuff to write about?

My money’s on yes.

Yours?

[To be fair, you can peruse my weekend Flickr uploads before answering. :)]

Entry filed under: Elizabeth City. Tags: .

A Message to Obama [Meme?] Henry’s First Hike Back

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy  |  November 9, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    I’m with you on this philosophy. I love going someplace nobody else would think of and looking at it from the “what would I do tonight if I lived here and wasn’t on a mission to see the hottest sights?” and I’ve never been able to understand the folks who will sit in their hotel room and watch TV because they think if it’s not, say, San Francisco then there can’t possibly be any reason to go out the door.

    I have no doubt you’ll find plenty of fun in Elizabeth City!

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  November 10, 2008 at 10:08 am

    @Stacy- Yeah I think a big part of finding adventure is leaving your hotel room/house. In 2007, I spent an evening at a nature preserve in Marshfield, Wisconsin and one of my colleagues tagged along. At the end of the evening, he shook his head and said, “I’ve been working in Marshfield for 15 years and I never knew this was here.”

    What was our Writing Seminar teachers name in high school? She used to say “In order to get struck by lightening, you have to go stand out in the rain.”

    Reply
  • 3. ideonexus  |  November 10, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    I’ve been living here three years, and all ready you have found several places I had no clue existed. You are so awesome Vicky!

    Reply
  • 4. Serenity D  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Hi! I totally agree with you! I’ve always subscribed to the idea that everywhere I’ve lived and visited there was something amazing to see and beautiful to photograph…..and it’s always been true. Some of the most amazing places I’ve found were during the 3 years I lived in Kansas (such as the amazing bridge I found where the snakes only sun-bathed on the east side of the bridge or the church that had been burned down leaving only the stone perimenter). While I am awful at posting these photos on my blog, I often look at them and fondly remember how a trip to “nowhere” led to the most amazing day of hiking and photographing! So, I look forward to what you will find in Elizabeth City! We need to go exploring some day together!

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    My money’s on yes, too. I don’t know that I’ve ever been anywhere that I haven’t found interesting in one way or another…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


